Origin: San Francisco, California, USA  
Genres: Black Metal
Official Site Twitter Facebook
Last update/review: September 24, 2018


Dragonlord is the side project of Testament guitarist Eric Peterson, apparently a project that has been in the works for some time now. The lineup here is most of the current Testament lineup with the addition of Psypheria keyboardist Lyle Livingston. The resulting album, Rapture, is for all intents and purposes a black metal album, as the vocals, keyboards, and song pace is undeniably black, while the guitarwork, unsurprisingly, is more thrash-based. Peterson's vocals are quite good (occasionally Cradle Of Filth-like), and overall this is a very good album, surprisingly genuine (in other words, it doesn't sound like Peterson is just hopping on the black metal bandwagon), and well worth recommending to black metal fans, and probably Testament fans as well.

Current Members

Eric Peterson

vocals/guitars (Testament)

Lyle Livingston


Alex Bent

drums (ex-Battlecross, Trivium)

Former Members/Guests

Steve Smyth

guitars (Forbidden, ex-Nevermore, One Machine, guest for Testament, ex-Vicious Rumors)

Steve DiGiorgio

bass (Act Of Denial, ex-Artension, ex-Autopsy, ex-Control Denied, Charred Walls Of The Damned, ex-Death, ex-Ephel Duath, Futures End, guest for Iced Earth, guest for Megadeth, ex-Memorain, ex-Painmuseum, ex-Quo Vadis, ex-Sadus, ex-Scariot, ex-Soen, Testament, guest for Vintersorg)

Derek Ramirez

bass (ex-Testament)

Jon Allen

drums (Futures End, ex-Sadus)


2001 Spitfire
  1. Vals De La Muerte
  2. Unholyvoid
  3. Tradition And Fire
  4. Born To Darkness
  5. Judgement Failed
  6. Wolfhunt
  7. Spirits In The Mist
  8. Rapture
  • Eric Peterson
  • Steve Smyth
  • Steve DiGiorgio
  • Lyle Livingston
  • Jon Allen

Black Wings Of Destiny  
2005 Escapi
  1. The Becoming Of
  2. Curse of Woe
  3. Revelations
  4. Until the End
  5. Sins of Allegiance
  6. Mark of Damnation
  7. Blood Voyeur
  8. Fallen
  9. Black Funeral
  10. Emerald
  • Eric Peterson
  • Steve Smyth
  • Derek Ramirez
  • Lyle Livingston
  • Jon Allen
2005 Readers' Album #91

2018 Spinefarm
  1. Entrance
  2. Dominion
  3. Ominous Premonition
  4. Lamia
  5. Love of the Damned
  6. Northlanders
  7. The Discord of Melkor
  8. Serpents of Fire
  • Eric Peterson
  • Lyle Livingston
  • Alex Bent

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions