Origin: Sweden  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Page online: June 29, 2022
Last update/review: September 3, 2023


Soen was a project in the making as far back as 2004, formally announcing their arrival on the scene in 2010. Expectations were already high as the initial lineup featured two extreme metal veterans in Opeth drummer Martin Lopez and the everpresent Steve DiGiorgio on bass (since departed). Early on, the band was often tagged as a Tool clone, and while it's often inaccurate, and usually derogatory, to label a band as a mere clone of another, there's no question that Soen's debut (2012's Cognitive) sounds a lot like Tool (the guys have not shied away from their influence). Yet it was clear even then that the band had more to offer, and as the band progressed the Tool-isms gradually decreased as the band found its own fitting, releasing quality album after quality album. They now stand as a premier modern progressive metal band, and they're far from done yet.

Current Members

Joel Ekelöf


Cody Ford


Oleksi Kobel


Lars Åhlund


Martin Lopez

drums (ex-Amon Amarth, ex-Opeth)

Former Members/Guests

Joakim Platbarzdis


Marcus Jidell

guitars (Avatarium, The Doomsday Kingdom, ex-Evergrey, ex-Royal Hunt)

Steve DiGiorgio

bass (Act Of Denial, ex-Artension, ex-Autopsy, ex-Control Denied, Charred Walls Of The Damned, ex-Death, ex-Dragonlord, ex-Ephel Duath, Futures End, guest for Iced Earth, guest for Megadeth, ex-Memorain, ex-Painmuseum, ex-Quo Vadis, ex-Sadus, ex-Scariot, Testament, guest for Vintersorg)

Christian Andolf (guest)


Stefan Stenberg



2012 Spinefarm
  1. Fraktal
  2. Fraccions
  3. Delenda
  4. Last Light
  5. Oscillation
  6. Canvas
  7. Ideate
  8. Purpose
  9. Slithering
  10. Savia
  11. Writhen (Japanese edition bonus track)
  • Joel Ekelöf
  • Joakim Platbarzdis
  • Steve DiGiorgio
  • Martin Lopez

2014 Spinefarm
  1. Komenco
  2. Tabula Rasa
  3. Kuraman
  4. The Words
  5. Pluton
  6. Koniskas
  7. Ennui
  8. Void
  9. The Other's Fall
  • Joel Ekelöf
  • Joakim Platbarzdis
  • Steve DiGiorgio
  • Christian Andolf
  • Martin Lopez

2017 UDR
  1. Sectarian
  2. Orison
  3. Lucidity
  4. Opal
  5. Jinn
  6. Sister
  7. Stray
  8. Paragon
  • Joel Ekelöf
  • Marcus Jidell
  • Stefan Stenberg
  • Lars Åhlund
  • Martin Lopez

2019 Silver Lining
  1. Opponent
  2. Lascivious
  3. Martyrs
  4. Lotus
  5. Covenant
  6. Penance
  7. River
  8. Rival
  9. Lunacy
  • Joel Ekelöf
  • Cody Ford
  • Stefan Stenberg
  • Lars Åhlund
  • Martin Lopez

2021 Silver Lining
  • Joel Ekelöf
  • Cody Ford
  • Oleksi Kobel
  • Lars Åhlund
  • Martin Lopez

2023 Silver Lining
  1. Sincere
  2. Unbreakable
  3. Violence
  4. Fortress
  5. Hollowed
  6. Memorial
  7. Incendiary
  8. Tragedian
  9. Icon
  10. Vitals

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions