Origin: USA  
Genres: Traditional Metal
Page online: April 21, 2006
Last update/review: March 8, 2015


"Metal" Mike Chlasciak made a name for himself a few years ago, becoming the lead guitarist for Rob Halford's solo band, essentially helping Rob find his metal roots and, eventually, his way back to Judas Priest. He's also spent some touring time with Testament and others, but his main band is Painmuseum, who released Metal For Life in 2004 and an EP a year later. A cross between traditional metal, thrash, and some Pantera-esque aggressiveness, this is clearly a showcase for Chlasciak, and addditionally one would be hard pressed to find a more talented rhythm section than Steve DiGiorgio and Bobby Jarzombek, both of whom have played on multitudes of albums over the years. Tim Clayborne is the wild card here, as his roars and shrieks are at times at odds with the more traditional power/thrash tunes, though at other times he proves himself more than adequate. He's a capable vocalist, no question, but arguably not a perfect fit for this band. Assuming that Chlasciak can keep this group together as a real band rather than hired guns, there's potential here. Though Metal For Life suffers at times from a lack of memorable riffs and songs, it's still a fine first effort, and a further testament to Metal Mike's guitar skills.

Last Lineup

Tim Clayborne


Mike Chlasciak

guitars (ex-Halford)

Rob DeLuca


Bobby Jarzombek

drums (ex-Arch/Matheos, ex-Demons & Wizards, Fates Warning, ex-Halford, ex-Juggernaut, ex-Riot V, Spastic Ink)

Former Members/Guests

Steve DiGiorgio (guest)

bass (Act Of Denial, ex-Artension, ex-Autopsy, ex-Control Denied, Charred Walls Of The Damned, ex-Death, ex-Dragonlord, ex-Ephel Duath, Futures End, guest for Iced Earth, guest for Megadeth, ex-Memorain, ex-Quo Vadis, ex-Sadus, ex-Scariot, ex-Soen, Testament, guest for Vintersorg)


Metal For Life  
2004 Demolition
  1. The Divine Birth Of Tragedy
  2. Speak The Name
  3. Hosanna Hosanna
  4. Words Kill Everything
  5. American Metalhead
  6. Dogs In A Cage
  7. Live And Die
  8. Burn Flesh Burn
  9. PainmuseuM (Metal For Life)
  10. Bloody Wings
  11. I Am Your Keeper
  • Tim Clayborne
  • Mike Chlasciak
  • Steve DiGiorgio
  • Bobby Jarzombek

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions