Origin: International  
Genres: Power Metal
Official Site Facebook Twitter
Page online: June 30, 2017
Last update/review: February 27, 2022

Serious Black

Serious Black is one of those bands for whom many like to assign the "supergroup" tag -- sure, several European power metal veterans are or were here, yet supergroup seems a bit of a stretch. Anyway, the band was formed in 2014 and debuted a year later on AFM Records (naturally) with As Daylight Breaks. And it sounds exactly what a power metal supergroup might put out -- classic Euro power metal with a few symphonic touches and no surprises whatsover, though the guys all are in typical top form. Two of the bigger names have already rotated out (and replaced with equally stalwart players), thus it's likely this band will exist as more of a project when primary band schedules permit.

Upcoming album: Rise Of Akhenaton, release date September 27, 2024.

Current Members

Nikola Mijic

vocals (Alogia)

Dominik Sebastian

guitars (Edenbridge)

Mario Lochert


Rami Ali

drums (Iron Mask)

Former Members/Guests

Urban Breed

vocals (ex-Bloodbound, ex-Tad Morose)

Roland Grapow

guitars (ex-Helloween, Masterplan)

Bob Katsionis (guest)

keyboards (ex-Firewind, ex-Nightfall, ex-Revolution Renaissance, ex-Septicflesh)

Jan Vacik


Thomas Stauch

drums (ex-Blind Guardian, ex-Coldseed, ex-Iron Savior, ex-Savage Circus)

Alex Holzwarth

drums (ex-Angra, ex-Avantasia, Dol Ammad, ex-Luca Turilli's Rhapsody, ex-Paradox, ex-Rhapsody Of Fire, ex-Sieges Even, Turilli/Lione Rhapsody)


As Daylight Breaks  
2015 AFM
  1. I Seek No Other Life
  2. High and Low
  3. Sealing My Fate
  4. Temple of the Sun
  5. Akhenaton
  6. My Mystic Mind
  7. Trail of Murder
  8. As Daylight Breaks
  9. Someone Else's Life
  10. Setting Fire to the Earth
  11. Older and Wiser
  • Urban Breed
  • Dominik Sebastian
  • Roland Grapow
  • Mario Lochert
  • Jan Vacik
  • Thomas Stauch

2016 AFM
  1. Breaking the Surface
  2. As Long as I'm Alive
  3. Castor Skies
  4. Heartbroken Soul
  5. Dying Hearts
  6. You're Not Alone
  7. Mirrorworld
  8. State of My Despair
  9. The Unborn Never Die
  • Urban Breed
  • Dominik Sebastian
  • Bob Katsionis
  • Mario Lochert
  • Jan Vacik
  • Alex Holzwarth

2017 AFM
  1. With a Tip of the Hat
  2. Binary Magic
  3. Burn! Witches Burn!
  4. Lone Gunman Rule
  5. Now YouÂ’ll Never Know
  6. I Can Do Magic
  7. Serious Black Magic
  8. Skeletons on Parade
  9. Mr. Nightmist
  10. The Witch of Caldwell Town
  11. True Love is Blind
  12. Just Kill Me
  13. Newfound Freedom
  14. One Final Song
  • Urban Breed
  • Dominik Sebastian
  • Bob Katsionis
  • Mario Lochert
  • Jan Vacik
  • Alex Holzwarth

First Light  
2017 AFM
  1. Temple of the Sun
  2. Akhenaton
  3. Setting Fire to the Earth
  4. Heartbroken Soul
  5. Dying Hearts
  6. Hello Moon
  7. I Show You My Heart
  8. High and Low
  9. Sealing My Fate
  • Urban Breed
  • Dominik Sebastian
  • Mario Lochert
  • Rami Ali

Suite 226  
2020 AFM
  1. Let It Go
  2. When the Stars Right
  3. Solitude Etude
  4. Fate of All Humanity
  5. Castiel
  6. Heaven Shall Burn
  7. Way Back Home
  8. We Still Stand Tall
  9. Come Home
  10. Suite 226
  • Urban Breed
  • Dominik Sebastian
  • Mario Lochert
  • Rami Ali

Vengeance Is Mine  
2022 AFM
  1. Rock with Us Tonight
  2. Out of the Ashes
  3. Fallen Hero
  4. Senso della vita
  5. Ray of Light
  6. Soul Divider
  7. Tonight I'm Ready to Fight
  8. Just for You
  9. Soldiers of Eternal Light
  10. The Story
  11. Queen of Lies
  12. Album of Our Life
  13. Alea Iacta Est
  • Nikola Mijic
  • Dominik Sebastian
  • Bob Katsionis
  • Mario Lochert
  • Rami Ali

Rise Of Akhenaton    RELEASE DATE: September 27, 2024
2024 AFM

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions