Origin: Cardiff, Wales  
Genres: NWOBHM, Hard Rock
Last update/review: January 13, 2017

Persian Risk

Persian Risk attracted a fair following in the early eighties, and seemed primed to be a NWOBHM force, but fame eluded them. Their early lineups featured two notables who went on to greener pastures, in the form of founding guitarist Phil Campbell and vocalist Jon Deverill, who were later seen in Motorhead and Tygers Of Pan Tang, respectively. Varying lineups released at least one single and 12" in the early eighties, but by the time their debut album Rise Up was put out in 1986, the band had already collapsed. Rise Up is a passable NWOBHM/hard rock album, decently played for the style but ultimately not terribly memorable. Vocalist Carl Sentance put together a completely new version of the band in 2012, and two albums have since been released.

Current Members

Carl Sentance

vocals (ex-Krokus, ex-Tredegar)

Danny Willson


Jason Banks

guitars (ex-Sanctus Infernum)

Wayne Banks

bass (ex-Blaze, Holy Mother, ex-Sabbat)

Don Airey

keyboards (Deep Purple, ex-Fastway, ex-Michael Schenker Group, guest for Metalium, ex-Ozzy Osbourne, ex-Rainbow, ex-Sinner, ex-Whitesnake)

Tim Brown


Former Members/Guests

Jon Deverill

vocals (ex-Tygers Of Pan Tang)

Phil Campbell

guitars (ex-Motorhead)

Graham Bath

guitars (ex-Killers)

Phil Vokins


Howie G.


Nick Hughes


Chris Childs


Alex Meadows


Steve Hopgood

drums (ex-Killers, ex-Tank, ex-Tank (Tucker/Evans version))


Rise Up  
1986 Razor
  1. Hold The Line
  2. Jane
  3. Rise Up
  4. Brave New World
  5. Don't Turn Around
  6. Sky's Falling Down
  7. Break Free
  8. Dark Tower
  9. Rip It Up
  10. Women In Rock
  11. Too Different
  12. Sky's Falling Down
  13. Dark Tower
  • Carl Sentance
  • Graham Bath
  • Phil Vokins
  • Nick Hughes
  • Steve Hopgood

Once A King  
  1. Asylum
  2. Riding High
  3. Killer
  4. Once a King
  5. Soul Deceiver
  6. Battlecry
  7. Spirit in My Dreams
  8. Ride the Storm
  9. Fist of Fury
  10. Women and Rock
  11. Wasteland
  • Carl Sentance
  • Danny Willson
  • Howie G.
  • Chris Childs
  • Alex Meadows
  • Don Airey
  • Tim Brown

Who Am I?  
  1. Don't Look Back
  2. Who Am I?
  3. My Creation
  4. In My Life
  5. The Writing on the Wall
  6. I Feel Free
  7. Dark Tower
  8. Facing Your Demons
  9. Calling for You
  10. I Thought It Was You
  • Carl Sentance
  • Danny Willson
  • Jason Banks
  • Wayne Banks
  • Tim Brown

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions