Origin: Akron, Ohio, USA  
Genres: Traditional Metal
Last update/review: January 4, 2016

Beyond Fear

The story of Tim "Ripper" Owens should be familiar to most. Famously hand-picked to replace Rob Halford in Judas Priest, he made two studio albums and toured extensively with the group, only to be dropped when Halford himself made his inevitable return. Since his Priest stint, he's been all over the place, singing for Yngwie Malmsteen, Iced Earth, and Charred Walls Of The Damned, but Beyond Fear is truly his band. A self-titled album was released in the spring of 2006, barely a year after Owens put the band together. Musically, this is straightforward heavy metal, with the occasional thrash element, with Owens in predictably fine form -- his vocal talents have never been in question and on that score Beyond Fear delivers. The songs themselves range from ok to good, no real duds but few real standouts either. Overall, it's a bit on the safe side -- Ripper fans and traditional metallers will enjoy this, but the album doesn't quite make the huge impact one might have hoped for. As of this writing, it's not clear whether this band will be revived, though no doubt Ripper has plenty of singing left in him.

Current Members

Tim Owens

vocals (Charred Walls Of The Damned, ex-Iced Earth, ex-Judas Priest, KK's Priest, ex-Yngwie Malmsteen, ex-Tourniquet, ex-The Three Tremors, ex-Winters Bane)

John Comprix


Matt Sorg


Ed Stephens

bass (ex-Abdullah, ex-Shok Paris, Vindicator)

Eric Elkins


Former Members/Guests

Dwayne Bihary


Dennis Hayes

bass (ex-Iced Earth, ex-Seven Witches, ex-Winters Bane, ex-Wretch)


Beyond Fear  
  1. Scream Machine
  2. And ... You Will Die
  3. Save Me
  4. The Human Race
  5. Coming At You
  6. Dreams Come True
  7. Telling Lies
  8. I Don't Need This
  9. Words Of Wisdom
  10. My Last Words
  11. Your Time Has Come
  12. The Faith
  • Tim Owens
  • John Comprix
  • Dwayne Bihary
  • Dennis Hayes
  • Eric Elkins
2006 Readers' Album #60

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions