Origin: Cleveland, Ohio, USA  
Genres: Traditional Metal
Page online: August 16, 2009
Last update/review: May 4, 2017


Wretch was formed in the early 80's and has been a metal institution in their native Cleveland for years, though for many years they never officially recorded, save the odd demo and compilation appearance. It wasn't until 2006 that they finally signed to Auburn Records (apparently it is a rite of passage for every Ohio metal band to have some association with Auburn Records), releasing Reborn in 2006 followed by the album reviewed here, Make The Garden Burn, featuring various older demo tracks, live recordings, and the like. This is classic traditional American 80's-influenced metal, nothing more and nothing less. As of June 2011 the band was working on a new CD for a late 2011 release.

Current Members

Juan Ricardo


Nick Giannakos

guitars (ex-Breaker, ex-Destructor)

Mike Stephenson


Tim Frederick

bass (Destructor)

Jeff Curenton

drums (ex-Seven Witches, ex-Winters Bane)

Former Members/Guests

Colin Watson


Ron Emig


David Hayes

guitars (ex-Winters Bane)

Dennis Hayes

bass (ex-Beyond Fear, ex-Iced Earth, ex-Seven Witches, ex-Winters Bane)

Evan Gottschalk



2006 Auburn
  1. Mental Wars
  2. Cry For The Young
  3. Life
  4. Reborn
  5. Eyes Of Fate
  6. The Winners
  7. Skin To Skin
  8. I Am Storm
  9. Touch Like Thunder
  10. Nothing
  11. 'Til Death Do Us Part
  • Colin Watson
  • Nick Giannakos
  • David Hayes
  • Dennis Hayes
  • Jeff Curenton

Make This Garden Burn  COMPILATION
2007 Auburn
  1. Make This Garden Burn
  2. I Will Defy
  3. Touch Like Thunder
  4. Never Too Late (2005 demo)
  5. The Challenge ("Reborn" outtake)
  6. Comatose ("Reborn" outtake)
  7. Reborn ("Reborn" outtake-alternate version)
  8. Eyes Of Fate (2003 demo)
  9. Reborn (2003 demo)
  10. Mental Wars (live)
  11. Life (live)
  12. Reborn (live)
  13. Eyes Of Fate (live)

Rise To Power  EP
  1. I Will Defy
  2. Rise to Power
  3. Make This Garden Burn
  4. Rise Again
  5. Sleepless Dream (Live)
  6. Sacrifice (Live)
  7. Eyes of Fate (Live)
  8. Warriors (Live)

2014 Pure Steel
  1. Into Madness
  2. Sleepless Dreams
  3. The Ones
  4. Warriors
  5. Fallen from Grace
  6. Sacrifice
  7. All I See
  8. Sword and Stone
  9. Death of Innocence
  10. Never Alone
  11. Watching the Worlds
  12. In Those Eyes
  13. Rain
  • Ron Emig
  • Nick Giannakos
  • Mike Stephenson
  • Tim Frederick
  • Evan Gottschalk

The Hunt  
2017 Pure Steel
  1. Sturmbringer
  2. The Hunt
  3. Throne of Poseidon
  4. Twilight's End
  5. The Final Stand
  6. Fortune's Fool
  7. The King in Red
  8. Straight to Hell
  9. Pierce the Veil
  10. Once in a Lifetime
  11. She Waits
  • Juan Ricardo
  • Nick Giannakos
  • Mike Stephenson
  • Tim Frederick
  • Jeff Curenton

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions