Origin: Seattle, Washington, USA  
Genres: Hard Rock
Official Site
Last update/review: January 16, 2017


Vanderhoof was formed by Metal Church guitarist Kurdt Vanderhoof during his initial hiatus from that band. Like Vanderhoof's former non-Church project (Hall Aflame, who released an album in the early nineties), Vanderhoof the band is decidedly less power metal than Metal Church ever was, instead opting for a more mainstream hard rock sound. Though the band is quite polished and professional, it's hard to tell how Metal Church fans would react to it, since it's really a different style. Two albums were released in 1997 and 2002, but Kurdt has put this band to bed to continue with Metal Church.

Last Lineup

John DiBernardo


Kurdt Vanderhoof

guitars/backing vocals (ex-Hall Aflame, ex-Metal Church)

R.J. Kurtz


Jeff Powell


Kirk Arrington

drums/backing vocals (ex-Metal Church) RIP: May 22, 2023, age 61

Former Members/Guests

Damon Albright


Drew Hart


Dave Hawkes

bass/backing vocals

Brian Cokeley

keyboards/backing vocals


1997 Steamhammer/SPV
  1. Bleed
  2. Machine
  3. Take To The Sky
  4. Falling To Earth
  5. Earth
  6. Angel Now
  7. Out Alive
  8. Beg
  9. 50 Cent Symphony
  10. Tons Of Time
  11. 40 Days Down
  12. Game Is Played
  13. Burn
  • Damon Albright
  • Kurdt Vanderhoof
  • Dave Hawkes
  • Brian Cokeley
  • Kirk Arrington
1997 Readers' Album #54

A Blur In Time  
2002 Steamhammer/SPV
  1. 30 Thousand Feet
  2. Electric Love Song
  3. High Street
  4. Nowhere Train
  5. 3 AM
  6. Unchanged
  7. If Theres A Song
  8. Brand New Light
  9. Surface Of Another Planet
  10. Sleeping Giant
  11. Sonic Blur In Time
  • Drew Hart
  • Kurdt Vanderhoof
  • R.J. Kurtz
  • Jeff Powell
  • Kirk Arrington

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions