Origin: Flint, Michigan, USA  
Genres: Death Metal, Grindcore
Page online: March 29, 2005
Last update/review: March 29, 2005


Despite only one recorded album to their credit, Repulsion is widely respected as a death/grind metal pioneer. The band formed in 1985 as Genocide, and after a demo was recorded with that name, the members realized that several other Genocides existed (the Japanese Genocide was one), and they changed the band name to Repulsion. Their debut album, originally to be titled Slaughter Of The Innocent, was recorded in 1986, but didn't see a release until it was picked up by the Necrosis label (run by Carcass members) and released as Horrified in 1989, by which time the band had actually broken up due to Matt Olivo joining the armed forces. By 1991 the band was back together for a time, eventually leading to a re-release of Horrified by Relapse Records a year later, but by 1993 the band was done, presumably for good.

Horrified is somewhat primitive by modern death metal standards, but undeniably influential on a very young scene, sounding at times a bit like what Slaughter was doing, or perhaps early Death (incidentally, Olivo and Scott Carlson briefly played with Chuck Schuldiner in an early version of Death). In addition to the 1992 Relapse version, a 2002 re-release with bonus tracks has also seen the light of day.

Many years after their heyday, Repulsion reunited. They do play live, though their present lineup and long-term plans aren't clear at this time.

Current Members

Scott Carlson

bass/vocals (ex-Cathedral, ex-Church Of Misery)

Aaron Freeman


Matt Olivo

guitars (Cryptic Slaughter, ex-Mirror)

Dave Hollingshead



1989 Necrosis
  1. The Stench of Burning Death
  2. Eaten Alive
  3. Acid Bath
  4. Slaughter of the Innocent
  5. Decomposed
  6. Radiation Sickness
  7. Splattered Cadavers
  8. Festering Boils
  9. Pestilent Decay
  10. Crematorium
  11. Driven to Insanity
  12. Six Feet Under
  13. Bodily Dismemberment
  14. Repulsion
  15. The Lurking Fear
  16. Black Breath
  17. Maggots in Your Coffin
  18. Horrified
  • Scott Carlson
  • Aaron Freeman
  • Matt Olivo
  • Dave Hollingshead

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions