Origin: Herschaid, Germany  
Genres: Power Metal
Facebook Official Site
Page online: August 30, 2016
Last update/review: August 31, 2016


Powerworld was formed by Freedom Call bassist Ilker Elsin after his initial departure from that band back in 2005. As heard on the band's second album (2010's Human Parasite), the style here is less Germanic speed/power metal (although there's some of that) and more melodic mainstream hard rock/metal. Former Threshold vocalist Andrew McDermott makes his presence felt here with a fine performance (though he doesn't appear on the band's other albums), and in general everyone's in fine form even if the songs aren't particularly original. Elsin later returned to Freedom Call while this band remains active.

Current Members

Michael Bormann

vocals (ex-Bloodbound, Silent Force)

Andreas Rippelmeier


Ilker Ersin

bass (ex-Freedom Call, Lacrimas Profundere)

Marco Grasshoff

keyboards/backing vocals

Guido Gallus


Former Members/Guests

Steffan Brunner


Andrew McDermott

vocals (ex-Threshold) RIP: August 3, 2011, kidney failure

Barish Kepic


Nils Neumann

keyboards (ex-Freedom Call)

Jürgen Lucas


Achim Keller

drums (ex-Victory)


2008 Metal Heaven
  1. The Dark (Intro)
  2. Creatures
  3. Lake of Eternity
  4. Fight Fire with Fire
  5. Signs in the Sand
  6. I Reach the Light
  7. Dancing with the Angels
  8. Your World Is Not Mine
  9. (I Just) Died in Your Arms (Cutting Crew cover)
  10. Breaking the Silence
  11. Don't Walk on Broken Glass
  12. Our Melody
  • Steffan Brunner
  • Barish Kepic
  • Ilker Ersin
  • Nils Neumann
  • Jürgen Lucas

Human Parasite  
2010 Steamhammer/SPV
  1. Cleansed by Fire
  2. Stand Up
  3. Evil in Me
  4. Time Will Change
  5. Human Parasite
  6. Hope
  7. East Comes to West
  8. Children of the Future
  9. Caught in Your Web
  10. Tame Your Demons
  11. Might of Secrets
  12. King for a Day
  • Andrew McDermott
  • Barish Kepic
  • Ilker Ersin
  • Nils Neumann
  • Achim Keller

2013 Steamhammer/SPV
  1. Children of the Universe
  2. Slave to the Powerworld
  3. Back on Me
  4. World Knows Your Secrets – Virtuality
  5. You Gotta Hold On
  6. Am I Digital?
  7. Coast of Tears
  8. Black Ash
  9. Like a Shadow
  10. Cybersteria
  11. You Will Find a Way
  12. Not Bound to the Evil
  • Michael Bormann
  • Andreas Rippelmeier
  • Ilker Ersin
  • Marco Grasshoff
  • Guido Gallus

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions