Origin: Barcelona, Spain  
Genres: Progressive Metal, Death Metal
Facebook Bandcamp
Page online: June 8, 2020
Last update/review: June 8, 2020


Moonloop is a Spanish progressive metal band, hailing from Barcelona and formed in 2001, though their debut album didn't arrive until 2012. As heard on 2017's Devocean, the band slots firmly in the progressive death metal camp, with the progressive leanings somewhat outweighing the death influences. Others have cited bands such as Cynic, Gojira, or mid-period Opeth as references points, and those are valid, but only as namechecks rather than distinct soundalikes. The songs are adventurous and technical but rarely bog down in busyness or overly flashy musicianship. Worthy of a listen.

Current Members

Eric Baulenas


Christian López


Denis Fernández


Raúl Payán


Former Members/Guests

Juan José Martín


Vic Granell



Deeply From The Earth  
2012 Listenable
  1. Awaking Spirals of Time
  2. Beginning of the End
  3. A Life Divided
  4. Fading Faces
  5. Strombus
  6. Deceiving Time
  7. Legacy of Fear
  8. Wailing Road
  9. Landscape
  10. Atlantis Rising
  • Eric Baulenas
  • Juan José Martín
  • Vic Granell
  • Raúl Payán

2017 Listenable
  1. Megalodon
  2. Nightmare Gallery
  3. Zeal
  4. Expired Kings
  5. Medusa
  6. Oceans
  7. Interglacial
  8. Origin
  • Eric Baulenas
  • Juan José Martín
  • Vic Granell
  • Raúl Payán

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions