Origin: Sundsvall, Sweden  
Genres: Traditional Metal
Official Site Facebook
Page online: March 14, 2010
Last update/review: March 14, 2010

Lion's Share

Lion's Share is part of a seemingly neverending supply of Scandinavian traditional metal bands. The band formed way back in 1987, and starting with 1995's self-titled debut have released six albums over the years, with a variety of rotating lineups surrounding the one constant, guitarist Lars Christmansson. Vocalist Nils Patrik Johansson's heavily Dio-inspired vocals are a major selling point on the band's sixth effort, 2009's Dark Hours, while musically the focus is on aggressive, yet melodic traditional metal, sometimes bringing later-period Judas Priest to mind, other times Dio again, and still others a more general Euro metal style. There's not much in the way of broadening metal horizons, which as usual is hardly the point with this style of metal. With a career spanning over twenty years, it's unlikely that Lion's Share will break into the major leagues, but they've done well for themselves thus far.

Current Members

Nils Patrik Johansson

vocals (Astral Doors, ex-Civil War, Wuthering Heights)

Lars Chriss (Lars Christmansson)


Sampo Axelsson


Former Members/Guests

Anders Engberg

vocals (220 Volt, ex-Beyond Twilight, Sorcerer)

Tony Niva


Andy Loos


Pontus Egberg

bass (King Diamond, Wolf)

Kay Backlund


Mats Olausson

keyboards (ex-Ark, ex-Iron Mask, ex-Yngwie Malmsteen, ex-Silver Mountain) RIP: February 19, 2015, age 54

Johan Koleberg

drums (ex-Therion)

Rickard Evansand

drums (ex-Dog Faced Gods, Demonoid, ex-Ebony Tears, ex-Sorcerer, guest for Therion)

Conny Pettersson (guest)

drums (Anata)


Lion's Share  
1994 Zero
  1. Sins of a Father
  2. Arabia
  3. Scarecrow
  4. Play by the Rules
  5. Judgement Day
  6. Nothing's Free
  7. Haunted
  8. Just in Time to be Late
  9. Taking on the World
  10. Searchin' for Answers
  • Anders Engberg
  • Lars Chriss
  • Andy Loos
  • Kay Backlund
  • Johan Koleberg

  1. Wild at heart
  2. Lord of the pain
  3. Transient
  4. Don't come easy
  5. Shadows
  6. Baptism of fire
  7. Flash in the night
  8. World gone wrong
  9. Rat - race
  • Anders Engberg
  • Lars Chriss
  • Pontus Egberg
  • Kay Backlund
  • Johan Koleberg

Fall From Grace  
1999 Massacre
  1. The Edge of Sanity
  2. Unholy Rites
  3. Fall from Grace
  4. Drowning
  5. Remembrance
  6. The Day The Earth Caught Fire
  7. A Hole of Black
  8. A Touch of Evil
  • Anders Engberg
  • Lars Chriss
  • Pontus Egberg
  • Kay Backlund
  • Johan Koleberg

Perspective  COMPILATION
2000 Massacre
  1. Sins of a Father
  2. Scarecrow
  3. Arabia
  4. Play by the Rules
  5. I don't Believe in Love
  6. Judgement Day
  7. Haunted
  8. Just in Time to be Late
  9. Lion's Share*
  10. Searchin' for Answers
  11. Shadows
  12. Baptism Of Fire
  13. Wild At Heart
  14. Flash In The Night
  15. Transient
  16. Don't Come Easy
  17. World Gone Wrong
  18. Rat-Race
  19. Lord Of The Pain
  20. Nothing's Free

2001 Massacre
  1. Entrance
  2. Shotgun Messiah
  3. Waiting
  4. Through The Clouds
  5. Lost
  6. Mystery
  7. Believe
  8. War Machine
  9. On And On
  10. Losing My Head
  11. Free Your Mind
  • Tony Niva
  • Lars Chriss
  • Pontus Egberg
  • Mats Olausson
  • Johan Koleberg

Emotional Coma  
2007 AFM
  1. Cult Of Denial
  2. The Arsonist
  3. Emotional Coma
  4. Clones of Fate
  5. The Edge of the Razor
  6. Toxication Rave
  7. Trafficking
  8. Bloodstained Soil
  9. Soultaker
  10. Hatred's My Fuel
  11. Sorcerers
  12. Ring of Stupidity (bonus track)
  • Nils Patrik Johansson
  • Lars Chriss
  • Sampo Axelsson
  • Rickard Evansand

Dark Hours  
2009 Blistering
  1. Judas Must Die
  2. Phantom Rider
  3. Demon in Your Mind
  4. Heavy Cross to Bear
  5. The Bottomless Pit
  6. Full Metal Jacket
  7. The Presidio 27
  8. Barker Ranch
  9. Napalm Nights
  10. Space Scam
  11. Behind the Curtain
  • Nils Patrik Johansson
  • Lars Chriss
  • Sampo Axelsson
  • Conny Pettersson

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions