Origin: Brooklyn, New York, USA  
Genres: Progressive Metal, Death Metal
Official Site Facebook
Page online: August 14, 2010
Last update/review: August 14, 2010


The curiously-named Gwynbleidd hails from Brooklyn, New York, but the four members all immigrated from Poland as early teenagers. In short order they recorded a debut EP (Amaranthine), followed by Nostalgia, both self-financed efforts. Opeth is frequently bandied about as the prime soundalike here, and, yep, it's clear that mid-period Opeth is a tremendous influence here. To be fair, the integration of moody progressive music with death metal isn't easy to do, and while Gwynbleidd isn't the first to emulate be one of the best, both at matching Opeth's style as well as showing enough maturity and depth to avoid being tagged as a cheap knock-off. Made all the more impressive given this was released without a label, Nostalgia is a no-brainer for Opeth fans, while the smart money is on these guys eventually finding their own style. Definitely a band to watch for.

Current Members

Maciej Kupieszewski


Michal Kacunel


Jakub Kupieszewski


Adam Romanowski



Amaranthine  EP
2006 self-released
  1. Nostalgia
  2. New Setting
  3. The Awakening
  4. Lure of the Land
  • Maciej Kupieszewski
  • Michal Kacunel
  • Jakub Kupieszewski
  • Adam Romanowski

2009 self-released
  1. Nostalgia
  2. Egress
  3. New Setting
  4. Stormcalling
  5. Adrift
  6. Thawing Innocence
  7. Stare into the Sun
  8. Canvas for Departure
  • Maciej Kupieszewski
  • Michal Kacunel
  • Jakub Kupieszewski
  • Adam Romanowski

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions