Origin: San Francisco, California, USA  
Genres: 80's Metal
Last update/review: March 24, 2003


Griffin's two albums had their roots in thrash, but really the band was more than that, as frequent time changes, quirky vocals, and an interesting songwriting style prevailed. One of those bands that seemed like they were on the verge of a breakthrough album, but never managed to do so.

Note: no relation to Griffin, the Norwegian metal band.

Last Lineup

William McKay


Rick Cooper


Rick Wagner


Former Members/Guests

Mike Jastremski

guitars (ex-Heathen) RIP: May 23, 2005

Thomas Sprayberry



Flight Of The Griffin  
1984 Shrapnel
  1. the Slayer
  2. Heavy Metal Attack
  3. Submission
  4. Creeper
  5. Flight of the Griffin
  6. Fire in the Sky
  7. Hell Runneth Over
  8. Judgement Day
  9. Travelling in Time
  • William McKay
  • Rick Cooper
  • Mike Jastremski
  • Thomas Sprayberry
  • Rick Wagner

Protectors Of The Lair  
1986 Steamhammer/SPV
  1. Eulogy of Sorrow/Awakening
  2. Hunger
  3. Infinite Voyage
  4. Cursed be the Deceiver
  5. Tame the Lion
  6. Entity/Watching from the Sky
  7. Sanctuary
  8. Truth to the Cross
  9. Poseidon Society
  10. Eulogy of Sorrow (Reprise)
  • William McKay
  • Rick Cooper
  • Rick Wagner

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions