Origin: Vantaa, Finland  
Genres: Death Metal
Official Site
Page online: December 9, 2004
Last update/review: September 19, 2006


Elenium is yet another fine extreme band from Finland, a country that continues to churn out metal bands from a variety of genres. Their style is best described as either progressive death metal (the progressive term due to some well-placed keyboard work) or perhaps melodic death metal (though they sound nothing like the Swedish-influenced bands often described as melodic death metal). The band is not particularly flashy, forgoing the overly technical playing of some extreme bands in favor of a streamlined, yet still busy, songwriting style. There's a bit of Children Of Bodom, a shade of Opeth, a dash of early Amorphis, yet the band doesn't really sound like any of these three, nor even would describing them as a combination of these bands be appropriate. Rather, Elenium fuses a wide range of influences to create a diverse, yet cohesive sound. For Giving - For Getting is an impressive debut album from a band that has huge potential.

Current Members

Jukka Pelkonen

vocals (Omnium Gatherum)

Kasperi Heikkinen

guitars (Beast In Black, ex-U.D.O.)

Lauri Koskenniemi


Ville Leppänen


Tuomo Räisänen

bass (Kuolemanlaakso)

Johannes Salo


Anssi Hallio


Former Members/Guests



Tommi Leinonen


Mikko Niemelä



(MCD) This Side Of Paradise  
1998 Hella
  1. This Side Of Paradise
  2. Shades Of Grey
  3. Your Immortal Kiss
  • Jukka Pelkonen
  • Okko
  • Tuomo Räisänen
  • Johannes Salo
  • Mikko Niemelä

For Giving - For Getting  
2003 Rage Of Achilles
  1. Up The Long Ladder
  2. Eye For A Lie
  3. Impostor
  4. Nameless – Faceless
  5. Moments
  6. Subcreator
  7. Under The Mug
  8. Few Gone Wrong
  9. 6-Missing
  • Jukka Pelkonen
  • Kasperi Heikkinen
  • Tommi Leinonen
  • Tuomo Räisänen
  • Johannes Salo
  • Mikko Niemelä

Caught In A Wheel  
2007 Kampas
  1. Intro
  2. Human
  3. Challenger of Gravity
  4. The Escalator
  5. Of the Man Who Died
  6. Twelve
  7. Caught in a Wheel
  8. Trail of Beggars
  9. Eyes Grow Colder
  10. Velocity
  • Jukka Pelkonen
  • Kasperi Heikkinen
  • Tommi Leinonen
  • Tuomo Räisänen
  • Johannes Salo

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions