Origin: Finland  
Genres: Melodic Death Metal
Page online: May 6, 2021
Last update/review: May 6, 2021

Bodom After Midnight

Children Of Bodom was at a crossroads in 2019. Founder Alexi Laiho and several bandmates were not seeing eye to eye, and thus three members formally left the band in late 2019, leaving Laiho and guitarist Daniel Freyberg to forge ahead. For legal reasons, that new path could not be Children Of Bodom itself, so Laiho and Freyberg formally created Bodom After Midnight. While in the process of working on their debut album, Laiho passed away in late 2020, putting an end to the project. Posthumously three recorded tracks were released in 2021 as Paint The Sky With Blood, with two original tracks and a Dissection cover rounding out the proceedings. The songs showed Laiho in crew in fine melodic death metal form, making Laiho's passing all the more unfortunate.

Last Lineup

Alexi Laiho

vocals/guitars (ex-Children Of Bodom, ex-Impaled Nazarene, ex-Sinergy) RIP: December 29, 2020, cirrhosis, age 41

Daniel Freyberg

guitars (ex-Children Of Bodom, ex-Norther)

Mitja Toivonen


Waltteri Väyrynen

drums (Opeth, ex-Paradise Lost, guest for Strigoi, ex-Vallenfyre)


Paint The Sky With Blood  EP
  1. Paint The Sky With Blood
  2. Payback's A Bitch
  3. Where Dead Angels Lie
  • Alexi Laiho
  • Daniel Freyberg
  • Mitja Toivonen
  • Waltteri Väyrynen

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions