Origin: Atlanta, Georga, USA  
Genres: Black Metal
Official Site
Page online: March 26, 2005
Last update/review: February 16, 2011

Aurora Borealis

Aurora Borealis is essentially a one-man affair, with Ron Vento striking out on his own after a previous stint with a Georgia-based death metal band. The man must have connections, since no less than three well-known death metal drummers have played on the albums recorded here. Musically, Aurora Borealis is one of those death/black metal hybrids, with Vento's vocals slanting toward black and the riffing and drumming siding a bit toward death metal. There's an above-average degree of technicality here, as Vento is a solid guitarist and an adventuresome songwriter. The songs mix both technicality and brutality quite well -- this is a fine band well worth investigation.

Current Members

Ron Vento


Jason Ian-Vaughn Eckert


Tony Laureano

drums (ex-Acheron, ex-Angelcorpse, guest for God Dethroned, Insidious Disease, ex-Malevolent Creation, ex-Nachtmystium, ex-Nile)

Mark Green


Former Members/Guests

Derek Roddy

drums (ex-Council Of The Fallen, ex-Divine Empire, ex-Hate Eternal, ex-Malevolent Creation, Menace, guest for Nile)

Tim Yeung

drums (ex-Council Of The Fallen, ex-Decrepit Birth, Divine Heresy, ex-Hate Eternal, ex-Morbid Angel)


Mansions Of Eternity  EP
1996 Nightsky
  1. Crowned With Embalmment
  2. Weighing Of The Heart
  3. Valley Of The Kings
  4. Slave To The Grave
  5. Sixteenth Chamber
  • Ron Vento
  • Tony Laureano

Praise The Archaic Lights Embrace  
1998 Nightsky
  1. Offerings Of Jade And Blood
  2. A Gaze Into Everdark
  3. In The Depths Of A Labyrinth
  4. Aggressive Dynasty
  5. War Of The Rings
  6. For Your Comprehension
  7. Constellations Embellished With Chaos
  8. Calm Before
  9. The Storm
  • Ron Vento
  • Jason Ian-Vaughn Eckert
  • Derek Roddy

Northern Lights  
2000 Nightsky
  1. Thrice Told
  2. Enter The Halls
  3. Images In The Nightsky
  4. Draco
  5. Sky Dweller
  6. Hydrah
  7. Dream God
  8. Distant
  • Ron Vento
  • Derek Roddy

Time, Unveiled  
2002 Diehard
  1. Triumph Again
  2. Sky Burial
  3. Searching
  4. Transversing The Tides
  5. Berserker
  6. The Last Day
  7. Reign
  8. Sixteenth Chamber (Bonustrack)
  9. Slave To The Grave (Bonustrack)
  • Ron Vento
  • Tim Yeung

2006 Nightsky
  1. Myths of the Light
  2. Let The Games Begin
  3. Ravaged By Fire
  4. God Wills It
  5. The Red Flag
  6. River Through The Skies
  7. Tonight We Feast
  8. Black Snow
  • Ron Vento
  • Tony Laureano

Timeline: The Beginning And End Of Everything  
2011 Nightsky
  1. Our Legacy
  2. Crucible Of Creation
  3. Formation
  4. Stygian Depths
  5. A Creature Called Human (Among Other Things)
  6. The Evolution After Evolution
  7. The Only Space Race That Matters
  8. Beyond The Oort Cloud
  9. Tearing Holes In The Fabric Of Time
  10. Prelude To Cessation
  11. The Rebirth
  • Ron Vento
  • Jason Ian-Vaughn Eckert
  • Mark Green

2014 Xtreem
  • Ron Vento
  • Jason Ian-Vaughn Eckert
  • Mark Green

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions