Origin: Norway  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: September 1, 2009


The progressive metal band Ark came about as a result of a Macaluso, who met and became friends in 1990. Conception) the project turned into a full-time band. Consisting of an all-star cast of superb musicians, Ark delivered a good self-titled debut and then upped the ante with the excellent Burn The Sun. Both musically and vocally, the album strikes the perfect balance of melody and aggression, of power and emotion, resulting in a near-flawless performance. Yngwie Malmsteen in the past) is up to the task, the perfect vocalist for this style of adventurous, melodic progressive metal. Burn The Sun is a winner. They broke up soon after that album's release, reformed in the summer of 2009, and then broke up for good in 2011.

Last Lineup

Jørn Lande

vocals (ex-Beyond Twilight, Jorn, ex-Masterplan, ex-Mundanus Imperium)

Tore Østby

guitars (ex-Conception)

Randy Coven

bass (ex-Holy Mother) RIP: May 20, 2014, age 54

John Macaluso

drums (Holyhell, ex-Labyrinth, ex-Yngwie Malmsteen, ex-Riot V, ex-TNT)

Former Members/Guests

Mats Olausson

keyboards (ex-Iron Mask, ex-Lion's Share, ex-Yngwie Malmsteen, ex-Silver Mountain) RIP: February 19, 2015, age 54


2000 Inside Out
  1. Burning down
  2. Where the winds blow
  3. The hunch back of Notre Dame
  4. Singers at the worlds dawn
  5. Mother love
  6. Center avenue
  7. Cant let go
  • Jørn Lande
  • Tore Østby
  • John Macaluso

Burn The Sun  
2001 Inside Out
  1. Heal the waters
  2. Torn
  3. Burn the sun
  4. Ressurection
  5. Absolute zero
  6. Just a little
  7. Waking hour
  8. Noose
  9. Feed the fire
  10. Bleed
  11. Missing you
  12. Silent is the rain (Japanese bonus track)
  • Jørn Lande
  • Tore Østby
  • Randy Coven
  • Mats Olausson
  • John Macaluso

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions