Origin: France
Genres: Thrash Metal
official site


The French metal scene has really started taking off in recent years, with a number of quality bands spanning the full range of metal styles making their mark on the world scene. Yyrkoon is one such band, formed in 1995 and originally more in the black metal field, according to reviews of their 1998 debut Oniric Transition. Problems with their record label forced their next release to be a self-financed MCD (Forgotten Past), the success of which brings us to their third release, Dying Sun. If the band used to play black metal, Dying Sun marks a radical departure from their past, as black metal is nowhere to be found on this release. Instead, the style is a dynamic, progressive-laced thrash attack, with just a few keyboard flourishes and two separate vocal styles, one a standard death metal growl and the other a clear, often harmonized clean style. Though this might be misleading to some, for some reason Into Eternity comes to mind when listening to Dying Sun, not that Yyrkoon sounds exactly like the Canadian group, but there is a similarity, the aforementioned clean vocals the common link. They recorded two more albums after signing to Osmose, but they apparently broke up in late 2007 or early 2008.

Current Members

Stéphane Souteryand


Geoffrey Gautier


Victorien Vilchez


Laurent Harrouart


Former Members/Guests

Jérôme Barouin


François Falempin


Kristofer Lorent


Dirk Verbeuren (guest)

drums (Aborted, ex-Devin Townsend Project, ex-Lyzanxia, Malevolence, No Return, ex-One-Way Mirror, ex-Phazm, Powermad, Scarve, Soilwork)


Oniric Transition 
1998 VMI
  1. Defeat
  2. Throne Of Complains
  3. The Awakening
  4. Elemental Storm
  5. Runic Art
  6. Last Ideal
  7. Wind Of Decline
  8. Onric Transitions
  • Stéphane Souteryand
  • Jérôme Barouin
  • Geoffrey Gautier
  • Kristofer Lorent
  • Laurent Harrouart

(MCD) Forgotten Past 
2000 self-released
  1. Forgotten Past
  2. Enclosed In A Dream
  3. Schyzophrenic Carnage
  • Stéphane Souteryand
  • Geoffrey Gautier
  • Kristofer Lorent
  • Laurent Harrouart

Dying Sun 
2002 Anvil
  1. Idols Are Burning
  2. Crystal Light
  3. Fight Of The Titan
  4. The Clans
  5. Thrash 'Em All
  6. Gods Of Silver
  7. Stolen Souls
  8. Screamer
  9. Back To The Cave
  10. Inner Ghost
  11. Dying Sun
  • Stéphane Souteryand
  • François Falempin
  • Geoffrey Gautier
  • Victorien Vilchez
  • Laurent Harrouart

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos 

Occult Medicine 
2004 Osmose
  1. Intro
  2. Doctor X
  3. Censored Project
  4. Blasphemy
  5. Occult Medicine
  6. Revenant Horde
  7. Reversed World
  8. Trapped Into Life
  9. Surgical Distortion
  10. Schyzophrenic Carnage
  11. Erase The Past
  • Stéphane Souteryand
  • Geoffrey Gautier
  • Victorien Vilchez
  • Dirk Verbeuren

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

Unhealthy Opera 
2006 Osmose
  1. Something Breathes
  2. Unhealthy Opera
  3. From the Depths
  4. Avatar Ceremony
  5. Temple of Infinity
  6. Abnormal Intrusion
  7. Screaming Shores
  8. The Book
  9. Horror from the Sea
  10. Lair ...
  11. ... Of Madness
  12. Injecting Dementia
  13. Signs (bonus track)
  • Stéphane Souteryand
  • Geoffrey Gautier
  • Victorien Vilchez
  • Laurent Harrouart

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!