Origin: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Genres: Traditional Metal
official site YouTube

White Wizzard  

Los Angeles' White Wizzard makes no bones about their love of 80's metal and their desire to bring back that style. After releasing a self-titled EP, they were signed to Earache Records, who promptly repackaged and reissued the EP (same tracks with one song renamed), branding the new EP as High Speed GTO. Just as things were looking up, though, tensions arose within the camp, and founder Jon Leon ended up firing the rest of the band, most of whom moved on to form Holy Grail. Leon put together a new lineup and the result was 2010's Over The Top. Plenty of harmonized guitar leads alongside Leon's prominent basswork make Iron Maiden an obvious reference point, though one could point to any '80's underground band and find a similarity here. That's not to say these guys aren't doing their own thing, but again, reliving and glorifying the past is the goal here, and in that respect these guys are doing it right. The lineup issues may not be over yet, as already two guys that played on Over The Top have been replaced. 80's retro thrash has been all the rage for the last few years, is it now time for retro 80's classic metal? Time will tell.

Current Members

Michael Gremio

vocals (ex-Cellador)

Chad Yasuhara


Jake Dreyer


Jon Leon


Giovanni Durst


Former Members/Guests

James Paul Luna

vocals (Holy Grail)

Wyatt Anderson


James LaRue

guitars (ex-Holy Grail, Vindicator)

Erik Kluiber

guitars (Gypsyhawk)

Tyler Meahl

drums (Holy Grail, Huntress)

Jesse Applehans



(EP) White Wizzard 
2008 self-released
  1. High Speed GTO
  2. Celestina
  3. Octane Gypsy
  4. Into the Night
  5. March of the Skeletons
  6. Iraq Attack
  7. Megaladon
  • James Paul Luna
  • James LaRue
  • Jon Leon
  • Tyler Meahl

(EP) High Speed GTO  REISSUE
2009 Earache
  1. High Speed GTO
  2. Celestina
  3. Into the Night
  4. March of the Skeletons
  5. Megalodon
  6. Octane Gypsy
  7. Red Desert Skies
Same songs as self-titled EP, re-ordered and (in one case) renamed.

Over The Top 
2010 Earache
  1. Over The Top
  2. 40 Deuces
  3. High Roller
  4. Live Free Or Die
  5. Iron Goddess Of Vengeance
  6. Out Of Control
  7. Strike Of The Viper
  8. Death Race
  9. White Wizzard
  • Wyatt Anderson
  • Chad Yasuhara
  • Erik Kluiber
  • Jon Leon
  • Jesse Applehans

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Angry Metal Guy 

Flying Tigers 
  1. Fight To The Death
  2. West L.A. Nights
  3. Starchild
  4. Flying Tigers
  5. Night Train to Tokyo
  6. Night Stalker
  7. Fall of Atlantis
  8. Blood on the Pyramids
  9. Demons and Diamonds
  10. Dark Alien Overture
  11. War of the Worlds
  12. Starman's Son
  • Wyatt Anderson
  • Jon Leon
  • Giovanni Durst

The Devil's Cut 
2013 Earache
  1. Forging the Steel
  2. Strike the Iron
  3. Kings of the Highway
  4. Lightning in My Hands
  5. Steal Your Mind
  6. The Devil's Cut
  7. Torpedo of Truth
  8. Storm Chaser
  9. The Sun Also Rises


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!