Origin: Kouvola, Finland
Genres: Goth Rock/Metal
official site


To/Die/For presents an interesting sound, though perhaps not one that every metal fan can relate to. Their style mixes gothy heavy rock with some 80's pop sensibilities (combining late-period Sentenced with the croon of the singer from Depeche Mode might give a vague representation of what they're about), resulting in a heavy yet quite accessible sound. There are plenty of heavy guitars here, but also frequent keyboard flourishes (a further reminder of 80's pop) -- despite the seeming incongruence of these elements, the songs flow pretty nicely, and there's definitely an audience for this kind of heavy music. The band was relatively stable up until 2003, when, following the release of Jaded, vocalist Jape Perätalo left the band to form a new project. Strangely, he called the new band To/Die/For after receiving a record offer from Spinefarm Records. Initially the remaining members of the old band seemed ready to contest his claim, but that never happened, the members apparently disgusted with the entire situation. The new lineup, featuring Perätalo and former guitarist J.P. Sutela among others, survived for a few years, releasing two albums before formally disbanding in early 2009. Three members of the old version of the band later resurfaced in Hateframe, opting for a thrash metal sound rather than the goth rock of T/D/F, though that band too is no more.

Current Members

Jape Perätalo


Joonas Koto

lead guitar (Omnium Gatherum)

Juppe Sutela


Eza Viren


Miko Salminen

keyboards (ex-H.I.M.)

Santtu Lonka


Former Members/Guests

Mika Ahtiainen


Antti-Matti Talala


Miikka Kuisma


Marko Kangaskolkka


Jarkko Strandmann


Tonmi Lillman

drums (Ajattara, ex-Lordi, ex-Sinergy) RIP: February 14, 2012


All Eternity 
1999 Spinefarm
  1. Farewell
  2. Live in you
  3. Our candle melts away
  4. Dripping down red
  5. Sea of sin
  6. Loveless
  7. One more time
  8. Mary-ann (r.i.p)
  9. Together complete
  10. Rimed with frost
  11. Lacrimarum
  12. In the heat of the night (japanese bonus track)
  13. It's a sin (Japanese bonus track)
  • Jape Perätalo
  • Joonas Koto
  • Juppe Sutela
  • Miikka Kuisma
  • Tonmi Lillman

(EP) In The Heat Of The Night 
2000 Spinefarm
  1. In the heat of the night (radio edit)
  2. Farewell
  3. In the heat of the night
  • Jape Perätalo
  • Joonas Koto
  • Juppe Sutela
  • Miikka Kuisma
  • Tonmi Lillman

2001 Spinefarm
  1. Crimson twins
  2. Veil of tears
  3. Hollow heart
  4. Veiled
  5. The unknown
  6. Frail without you
  7. In solitude
  8. Chains
  9. Immortal love
  10. Garden of stones
  • Jape Perätalo
  • Joonas Koto
  • Juppe Sutela
  • Marko Kangaskolkka
  • Tonmi Lillman

  1. Dying Embers
  2. (I Just) Died In Your Arms
  3. Too Much Ain´t Enough
  4. The Unknown II
  5. Jaded
  6. Fall Strains
  7. Forever
  8. Años De Dolor
  9. Silence Tells More...
  • Jape Perätalo
  • Joonas Koto
  • Mika Ahtiainen
  • Marko Kangaskolkka
  • Tonmi Lillman

2005 Spinefarm
  1. Autumn Forever
  2. This World is Made for Me
  3. Lies (for Fools)
  4. New Year's Day
  5. Chaotic Me
  6. Little Deaths
  7. No Turning Back
  8. Fragmented
  9. Endlessly
  10. Last Breath
  • Jape Perätalo
  • Juppe Sutela
  • Mika Ahtiainen
  • Jarkko Strandmann
  • Miko Salminen
  • Santtu Lonka

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

Wounds Wide Open 
2006 Spinefarm
  1. Intro - Sorrow
  2. Wicked Circle
  3. Guilt Ridden State
  4. Like Never Before
  5. Under a Velvet Sky
  6. Scar Diary
  7. New Heaven
  8. The Quiet Room
  9. Liguid Lies
  10. (I Just Want) You
  11. Sorrow Remains
  • Jape Perätalo
  • Antti-Matti Talala
  • Jarkko Strandmann
  • Santtu Lonka

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

Epilogue From The Past  COMPILATION
2010 Spinefarm
  1. Hollow Heart
  2. Liquid Lies
  3. Farewell
  4. Dying Embers
  5. Live In You (Acoustic Version)
  6. Años De Dolor
  7. Little Deaths
  8. Chaotic Me
  9. Too Much Ain't Enough
  10. Autumn Forever
  11. Vale Of Tears
  12. Immortal Love
  13. Angelica
  14. Wicked Circle
  15. Like Never Before
  16. Together Complete
  17. In The Heat Of The Night

2011 Spinefarm
  1. Kissing The Flames ()
  2. Damned Rapture ()
  3. Cry For Love (IGGY POP cover) ()
  4. Death Comes in March ()
  5. Folie á Deux ()
  6. Hail Of Bullets ()
  7. Love's A Sickness ()
  8. Raving Hearts ()
  9. Oblivion: Vision ()
  10. Someday Somewhere Somehow ()
  • Jape Perätalo
  • Juppe Sutela
  • Antti-Matti Talala
  • Eza Viren
  • Miko Salminen
  • Santtu Lonka

2015 Massacre
  1. In Black
  2. Screaming Birds
  3. Unknown III
  4. Mere Dream
  5. You
  6. Straight Up
  7. Let It Bleed
  8. End of Tears
  • Jape Perätalo
  • Juppe Sutela
  • Eza Viren
  • Miko Salminen
  • Santtu Lonka


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!