Origin: Germany
Genres: Power Metal
official site


Rebellion was formed by a pair of former Grave Digger members, and made the interesting decision to debut with a concept album based on Shakespeare's MacBeth in 2002. A year later came Born A Rebel, an album steeped in Germanic power metal, though not the speed/happy version that is often played in Europe these days. No, Rebel is more rooted in mid-paced anthemic power metal, with several nods to recent Manowar in style and delivery. Vocalist Michael Seifert has a rough, throaty voice (a bit like a less refined Harry Conklin of Jag Panzer), but one well suited to the music. There are few surprises to be found here, as the band is pretty much playing metal by the numbers, but Born A Rebel is an enjoyable slice of prime headbanging metal.

Current Members

Michael Seifert


Oliver Geibig


Stephan Karut


Tomi Göttlich

bass (ex-Grave Digger)

Matthias Karle


Former Members/Guests

Uwe Lulis

guitars (Accept, ex-Digger, ex-Grave Digger)

Björn Eilen


Simone Wenzel


Randy Black

drums (ex-Annihilator, Duskmachine, ex-Primal Fear, ex-Skew Siskin)

Gerd Lücking

drums (Holy Moses)


A Tragedy In Steel - Shakespeare's MacBeth 
2002 Drakkar
  1. Introduction
  2. Disdaining Fortune
  3. The Prophecy
  4. Husbandry In Heaven
  5. The Dead Arise
  6. Evil Speaks
  7. Letters Of Blood
  8. Revenge
  9. Claws Of Madness
  10. Demons Rising
  11. Die With Harness On Your Back
  • Michael Seifert
  • Uwe Lulis
  • Björn Eilen
  • Tomi Göttlich
  • Randy Black

Born A Rebel 
2003 Drakkar
  1. Born A Rebel
  2. Adrenalin
  3. One For All
  4. World Is War
  5. Dragons Fly
  6. Queen Of Spades
  7. Iron Flames
  8. Through The Fire
  9. Devils Child
  10. Meet Your Demon
  11. Power Of Evil
  • Michael Seifert
  • Uwe Lulis
  • Björn Eilen
  • Tomi Göttlich
  • Randy Black

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

Sagas Of Iceland 
2005 Massacre
  1. In memoranduum Lindisfarnae
  2. Ynglinga Saga (To Odin we call)
  3. The sons of the Dragon Slayer (Blood Eagle)
  4. Ragnhild's dream
  5. Harald Harfager
  6. Eric the red
  7. Freedom (The Saga of Gang Hrolf)
  8. Treason
  9. Sword in the storm (The Saga of Earl Hakon, Protector of Norway)
  10. Blood rains (The Saga of King Olaf Trygvason)
  11. Ruling the waves
  12. Canute the Great (The King of Danish Pride)
  13. Harald Hadrade
  • Michael Seifert
  • Uwe Lulis
  • Björn Eilen
  • Tomi Göttlich
  • Gerd Lücking

Miklagard - The History Of The Vikings Volume II 
2007 Massacre
  1. Vi Seglar Mot Miklagard
  2. Sweden
  3. Free
  4. On The Edge Of Life
  5. Ulfberth
  6. The Rus
  7. Kiew
  8. Aifur
  9. Taste Of Steel
  10. God Of Thunder
  11. Our Backs To The Wind
  12. Miklagard
  13. The Uprising
  • Michael Seifert
  • Uwe Lulis
  • Simone Wenzel
  • Tomi Göttlich
  • Gerd Lücking

(EP) The Clans Are Marching 
2009 Massacre
  1. The Clans Are Marching
  2. Arise
  3. Ragnarök
  4. My Blood in the Snow
  • Michael Seifert
  • Uwe Lulis
  • Simone Wenzel
  • Tomi Göttlich
  • Gerd Lücking

Arise: From Ginnungagap To Ragnarök 
2009 Massacre
  1. War
  2. Arise
  3. Asgard
  4. Odin
  5. Runes
  6. Bolverk
  7. Thor
  8. Evil
  9. Loki
  10. Prelude
  11. Ragnarök
  12. Einherjar
  • Michael Seifert
  • Uwe Lulis
  • Simone Wenzel
  • Tomi Göttlich
  • Gerd Lücking

The Best Of Viking History  COMPILATION
2012 Massacre
  1. Ynglinga Saga (To Odin We Call)
  2. Blood Rains (The Saga of King Olaf Trygvason)
  3. Canute the Great (The King of Danish Pride)
  4. Harald Hadrade
  5. Sweden
  6. Kiew
  7. Taste of Steel
  8. God of Thunder
  9. The Uprising
  10. Arise
  11. Odin
  12. Runes
  13. Ragnarök
  14. Einherjar

Arminius: Furor Teutonicus 
2012 Massacre
  1. Rest in Peace
  2. Ala Germanica
  3. Prince of the Cheruscer
  4. Dusk Awaiting Dawn
  5. Breeding Hate
  6. The Seeress Tower
  7. Varus
  8. The Tribes United
  9. Ghost of Freedom
  10. Furor Teutonicus
  11. Vae Victis
  12. Requiem
  • Michael Seifert
  • Oliver Geibig
  • Stephan Karut
  • Tomi Göttlich
  • Matthias Karle


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!