Origin: Queens, NY, USA
Genres: Power Metal
official site Facebook Twitter YouTube

Ross The Boss  

Guitarist Ross "The Boss" Friedman has had a lengthy and successful career in rock and metal, some of it well known (a founding member of both The Dictators and, of course, Manowar) and some of it less so (Shakin' Street, and an interesting turn in Albert Bouchard's Brain Surgeons). Now he's got his own band, apparently coming together when he joined forces with a Manowar tribute band called Men Of War. Given this, it's unavoidable to compare the first album from this project, New Metal Leader, to prime Manowar, and often it's an apt comparison (the intros to both "God Of Dying" and "Immortal Son" are almost plagiaristic) -- certainly songs like "I Got The Right" would fit right in the New York boys' catalog. But it's not all Manowar stuff, as some songs are just more in the traditional Euro metal vein, and then there's the odd throwaway pop-metal of "May The Gods Be With You" to provide some variety (though it's far and away the weakest song on the album). Vocalist Patrick Fuchs is no Eric Adams, his voice is less clear and he doesn't have the range that Adams did in his prime, but he does well enough. Obviously, Manowar fans will eat this up, but being as these guys are a bit less over-the-top, they might also appeal to other fans of Euro-styled classic metal.

Current Members

Patrick Fuchs


Ross Friedman

guitars (Brain Surgeons, Death Dealer, ex-Manowar)

Carsten Kettering

bass (ex-Majesty)

Matthias Mayer



New Metal Leader 
2008 AFM
  1. I. L. H.
  2. Blood of Knives
  3. I Got the Right
  4. Death & Glory
  5. Plague of Lies (Brain Surgeons cover)
  6. God of Dying
  7. May the Gods Be with You
  8. Constantine's Sword (Brain Surgeons cover)
  9. We Will Kill
  10. Matador
  11. Immortal Son
  • Patrick Fuchs
  • Ross Friedman
  • Carsten Kettering
  • Matthias Mayer

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Brave Words 

2010 AFM
  1. I.A.G.
  2. Kingdom Arise
  3. Dead Man's Curve
  4. Hailstorm
  5. Burn Alive
  6. Crom
  7. Behold The Kingdom
  8. Great Gods Glorious
  9. Shining Path
  10. Among The Ruins
  11. Empire´s Anthem
  • Patrick Fuchs
  • Ross Friedman
  • Carsten Kettering
  • Matthias Mayer

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Angry Metal Guy 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!