Origin: Seattle, WA, USA
Genres: Hard Rock
official site


Best known as the band featuring guitarist Floyd Rose (inventor of the Floyd Rose Tremolo System for guitarists), Q5 debuted in 1984 with Steel The Light, a pretty decent slice of British-influenced hard rock/metal. They were pressured to go a bit more mainstream for their next album, which they did, resulting in When The Mirror Cracks, released in 1986 to mixed reviews. The band were in the midst of working on their third album when they dissolved, somewhere around 1987. Two of the members (later joined by a third) created a new band, Nightshade, releasing one album in 1991 and another in 2001, and were still playing live as late as 2003. A modified lineup officially reformed in 2015.

Current Members

Jonathan K.


Rick Pierce

guitars (ex-TKO)

Dennis Turner


Evan Sheeley

bass (ex-TKO)

Jeff McCormack

drums (Heir Apparent)

Former Members/Guests

Floyd Rose


Gary Thompson

drums (ex-TKO)


Steel The Light 
1984 Albatross
  1. Missing in action
  2. Lonely lady
  3. Steel the light
  4. Pull the trigger
  5. Ain't no way to treat a lady
  6. In the night
  7. Come and gone
  8. Rock on
  9. Teenage runaway
  • Jonathan K.
  • Floyd Rose
  • Rick Pierce
  • Evan Sheeley
  • Gary Thompson

Reviews:   Metal Forces 

When The Mirror Cracks 
1985 Albatross
  1. Livin' on the borderline
  2. Your tears (will follow me)
  3. Never gonna love again
  4. Stand by me
  5. When the mirror cracks
  6. Runaway
  7. In the rain
  8. I can't wait
  9. Cold heart
  10. Let go
  • Jonathan K.
  • Floyd Rose
  • Rick Pierce
  • Evan Sheeley
  • Gary Thompson


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!