Origin: LA, USA
Genres: Death Metal


Back in the mid-eighties, brothers Francis and Moyses Howard emigrated from Brazil to Louisiana and formed a band called Incubus, releasing two albums in 1988 and 1990 before going on an extended hiatus. In the meantime, the rap-rock band Incubus rose to prominence, and so the Howard brothers decided to rename their band before returning to the scene, and thus Opprobrium was (re-)born. The 2000 album, Discerning Forces, is a prime slice of American death metal, owing a bit to the Florida bands of the early nineties. As with a lot of death metal bands, the originality factor isn't terribly high here, but the band is ferocious, and the album is very well produced, giving the songs an extra punch. They've recorded two albums since then, in 2008 and 2016.

Current Members

Francis Howard


Moyses Howard


Former Members/Guests

Scot Latour


Mark Levenia


Andre Luis



Serpent Temptation 
1988 Brutal
  1. The Battle Of Armageddon
  2. Voices From The Grave
  3. Sadistic Sinner
  4. Incubus
  5. Blaspheming Prophets
  6. Hunger For Power
  7. Serpent Temptation
  8. Underground Killers
  • Francis Howard
  • Scot Latour
  • Moyses Howard

Beyond The Unknown 
1990 Nuclear Blast
  1. Certain Accuracy
  2. Curse Of The Damned Cities
  3. Beyond The Unknown
  4. Mortify
  5. The Decieved Ones
  6. Freezing Torment
  7. Massacre Of The Unborn
  8. On The Burial Ground
  • Francis Howard
  • Mark Levenia
  • Moyses Howard

Discerning Forces 
2000 Nuclear Blast
  1. Digitrap
  2. Discerning Forces
  3. Ancient Rebellion
  4. Dark Entanglement
  5. Drowning
  6. Escapism
  7. Merciless Torture
  8. Moments Of Despair
  9. Blood Conflict
  10. Awakening To The Filth
  • Francis Howard
  • Andre Luis
  • Moyses Howard

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal  Lords Of Metal  Brave Words 

Mandatory Evac 
2008 self-released
  1. Mandatory Evac
  2. Compulsive Worrier
  3. Fake
  4. Dark Science
  5. In The Shadows
  6. Incident
  7. Never Found
  8. Ignorance
  9. No One At My Funeral
  10. Sports Of Danger
  11. Daily Stress
  12. Sick Of This
  • Francis Howard
  • Moyses Howard

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal 

Beyond The Unknown 
  1. Certain Accuracy
  2. The Deceived Ones
  3. Curse of the Damned Cities
  4. Beyond the Unknown
  5. Freezing Torment
  6. Massacre of the Unborn
  7. On the Burial Ground
  8. Mortify
  • Francis Howard
  • Moyses Howard

Supernatural Death  COMPILATION
  1. Voices from the Grave
  2. Serpent Temptation
  3. Blind Vengeance
  4. Sadistic Sinner
  5. Rigor Mortis
  6. Cataleptic
  7. Hell's Fire
  8. Incubus
  9. Assault
  10. Death

Serpent Temptation 
  1. The Battle of Armageddon
  2. Voices from the Grave
  3. Sadistic Sinner
  4. Incubus (Opprobrium)
  5. Blaspheming Prophets
  6. Hunger for Power
  7. Serpent Temptation
  8. Underground Killers
  9. Serpent Temptation (Demo)
  10. Sadistic Sinner (Demo)
  11. Voices from the Grave (Demo)
  12. Incubus (Opprobrium) Demon
  • Francis Howard
  • Scot Latour
  • Moyses Howard


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!