Origin: Munich, Germany
Genres: Death Metal


Formed in 2002 by guitarist/vocalist Steffen Kummerer and presumably named after the classic Gorguts album, Obscura impressively debuted in 2006 with Retribution, a self-released effort that later won them a contract with Relapse Records. Though not quite as wacky as the Gorguts album, this is nevertheless highly-charged technical yet brutal thrash-tinged death metal with a fair degree of variation and excellent musicianship that contrasts nicely with the brutal riffing. Since the release of Retribution Kummerer has completely overhauled the lineup, bringing in two guys from another standout German tech death band (Necrophagist) as well as noted former Pestilence bassist Jeroen Paul Thesseling.

Current Members

Steffen Kummerer


Tom Geldschläger


Linus Klausenitzer

bass (Alkaloid, Noneuclid)

Sebastian Lanser

drums (Edenbridge)

Former Members/Guests

Markus Lempsch


Christian Münzner

guitars (Alkaloid, ex-Necrophagist, ex-Paradox, ex-Spawn Of Possession)

Jonas Fischer


Jeroen Paul Thesseling

bass (ex-Pestilence)

Jonas Baumgartl


Hannes Grossmann

drums (Alkaloid, Blotted Science, ex-Necrophagist)


2006 Vots
  1. Humankind
  2. Nothing
  3. Unhinged
  4. None Shall Be Spared
  5. Alone
  6. Hymn to A Nocturnal Visitor
  7. Intoxicated
  8. Exit Life
  9. Sentiment
  10. Sweet Silence
  11. Lack of Compehension
  • Steffen Kummerer
  • Markus Lempsch
  • Jonas Fischer
  • Jonas Baumgartl

Reviews:   Metal Storm 

2009 Relapse
  1. Anticosmic Overload
  2. Choir of Spirits
  3. Universe Momentum
  4. Incarnated
  5. Orbital Elements
  6. Desolate Spheres
  7. Infinite Rotation
  8. Noosphere
  9. Cosmogenesis
  10. Centric Flow
  • Steffen Kummerer
  • Christian Münzner
  • Jeroen Paul Thesseling
  • Hannes Grossmann

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Brave Words  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm 

2011 Relapse
  1. Septuagint
  2. Vortex Omnivium
  3. Ocean Gateways
  4. Euclidean Elements
  5. Prismal Dawn
  6. Celestial Spheres
  7. Velocity
  8. A Transcendental Serenade
  9. Aevum
  • Steffen Kummerer
  • Christian Münzner
  • Jeroen Paul Thesseling
  • Hannes Grossmann

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Metal Review  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Angry Metal Guy  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm 

Illegimitation  COMPILATION
2012 Relapse
  1. ...and All Will Come to an End
  2. Crucified
  3. Fear
  4. Immanent Desaster
  5. Incarnated
  6. Open the Gates
  7. Headworm
  8. Flesh and the Power it Holds
  9. Piece of Time
  10. How Could I

2016 Relapse
  1. Sermon of the Seven Suns
  2. The Monist
  3. Akróasis
  4. Ten Sepiroth
  5. Ode to the Sun
  6. Fractal Dimension
  7. Perpetual Infinity
  8. Weltseele
  9. The Origin of Primal Expression
  • Steffen Kummerer
  • Tom Geldschläger
  • Linus Klausenitzer
  • Sebastian Lanser


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!