Origin: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Genres: Death Metal
official site

Morta Skuld  

Long a mainstay of the US death metal underground, Morta Skuld enjoyed a fine run in the mid-nineties. They released three albums on Peaceville Records in England, a respected label, but the failure to get a US release for any of those three frustrated the band, and so they turned to Pavement records for their last effort, Surface. For classic, mid-paced, grindy death metal, one could hardly do better than this -- being veterans of the scene no doubt contributes to the professionalism of what's on display here.

Armed with a new drummer, the band announced a shift in musical direction around 2002, towards (in their words) a style similar to Static-X or Skinlab, and apparently a new name, MS2. Eventually they changed name to 9MM Solution, and this new band released a self-financed EP in 2004 (link below).

Current Members

Dave Gregor


Jason Hellman


Jason Mooney

drums (ex-Acrophet)

Former Members/Guests

Jason O'Connell


Kent Truckenbrod



Dying Remains 
1993 Peaceville
  1. Lifeless
  2. Without Sin
  3. Devoured Fears
  4. Dying Remains
  5. Useless To Mankind
  6. Rotting Ways
  7. Withering Seclusion
  8. Hatred Creation
  9. Consuming Existence
  10. Presumed Dead
  • Dave Gregor
  • Jason O'Connell
  • Jason Hellman
  • Kent Truckenbrod

As Humanity Fades 
1994 Peaceville
  1. Unknown Emotions
  2. A Century Of Ruins
  3. Humanity's Lost
  4. Awakening Destiny
  5. Paradise Of The Masses
  6. No World Escapes
  7. Different Breeds
  8. Sanctuary Denied
  9. Relics
  10. The Sorrow Fields
  11. Through Obscurity
  12. In The Shadows
  • Dave Gregor
  • Jason O'Connell
  • Jason Hellman
  • Kent Truckenbrod

For All Eternity 
1995 Peaceville
  1. Bitter Remembrance
  2. Justify
  3. Second Thought
  4. Crawl Inside
  5. For All Eternity
  6. Tears Of A Fallen Race
  7. The Bleeding Heart
  8. Burning Daylight
  9. The Vicious Circle
  • Dave Gregor
  • Jason O'Connell
  • Jason Hellman
  • Kent Truckenbrod

1998 Pavement
  1. The Killing Machines
  2. Save Yourself
  3. The Anger In Disguise
  4. Time Will Never Forget
  5. Surface
  6. Lords Of Discipline
  7. If I Survive
  8. In Nothing We Trust
  • Dave Gregor
  • Jason O'Connell
  • Jason Hellman
  • Kent Truckenbrod

Re-Surface: The Best Of Morta Skuld  COMPILATION
2005 Peaceville

Through The Eyes Of Death: The Early Demos  COMPILATION
2011 Relapse

Reviews:   Metal Underground 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!