Origin: San Francisco, CA, USA
Genres: Thrash Metal
official site


Heathen was one of several 80's thrash bands comprising the Bay Area thrash scene of the mid-to-late 80's, along with bands such as Exodus, Vio-lence, Death Angel, and Forbidden, among others. Guitarist Doug Piercy was a founding member of Anvil Chorus, a very popular early 80's metal band that inexplicably never got signed. Heathen's sound was typical for the time and place (that being energetic thrash), garnering good reviews and a steady following but not making it to the first division. The band had numerous ties to other San Francisco bands, as James Sanguinetti (Mordred) was a founding member (replaced by Piercy), Paul Baloff (Exodus) briefly replaced David Godfrey on vocals between albums, and Marc Biedermann (Blind Illusion) played bass on their second album. Several years after the initial breakup of the band, guitarist Lee Altus and drummer Darren Minter were seen in the German electronic band Die Krupps, with Altus sticking around for several albums in the mid-90's.

Following a reunion gig in 2001 (they played as part of the now-famous Thrash Of The Titans benefit concert), the band decided to reform, with a largely original lineup. Their first project is the completion of the Recovered album, a set of covers and demos that was started back in 1991. Recovered has now been released.

Current Members

David Godfrey (David White)


Lee Altus

guitars (Exodus)

Kragen Lum

guitars (Prototype, Psychosis)

Jon Torres

bass (ex-Angel Witch, ex-Laaz Rockit, ex-The Lord Weird Slough Feg, ex-Warning SF) RIP: September 2, 2013, heart failure

Former Members/Guests

Doug Piercy

guitars (ex-Anvil Chorus)

Ira Black

guitars (Consfearacy, ex-Lizzy Borden, ex-Vicious Rumors)

Mike Jastremski

bass (ex-Griffin) RIP: May 23, 2005

Carl Sacco


Darren Minter

drums (ex-Angel Witch)


Breaking The Silence 
1987 Combat
  1. Death by Hanging
  2. Goblin's Blade
  3. Open the Grave
  4. Pray for Death
  5. Set Me Free
  6. Breaking the Silence
  7. World's End
  8. Save the Skull
  9. Heathen (CD only)
  • David Godfrey
  • Lee Altus
  • Doug Piercy
  • Mike Jastremski
  • Carl Sacco

Reviews:   Metal Storm 

Victims Of Deception 
1991 Roadrunner
  1. Hypnotized
  2. Opiate of the Masses
  3. Heathen's song
  4. Kill the King
  5. Fear of the Unknown
  6. Prisoners of Fate
  7. Morbid Curiosity
  8. Guitarmony
  9. Mercy Is No Virtue
  10. Timeless Cell of Prophecy
  • David Godfrey
  • Lee Altus
  • Doug Piercy
  • Darren Minter

2004 Relentless
  1. Death On Two Legs
  2. Holy War
  3. In Memory Of ...
  4. Hellbound
  5. Eye Of The Storm
  6. Hypnotized
  7. Opiate Of The Masses
  8. Timeless Call
  9. Mercy Is No Virtue
  • David Godfrey
  • Lee Altus
  • Ira Black
  • Mike Jastremski
  • Darren Minter

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Metal Storm 

The Evolution Of Chaos 
2010 Mascot
  1. Dying Season
  2. Control By Chaos
  3. No Stone Unturned
  4. Arrows Of Agony
  5. Fade Away
  6. A Hero's Welcome
  7. Undone
  8. Bloodkult
  9. Red Tears Of Disgrace
  10. Silent Nothingness
  • David Godfrey
  • Lee Altus
  • Kragen Lum
  • Jon Torres
  • Darren Minter
2010 Internet Top Ten album

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Storm 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!