Origin: Starnberg, Germany
Genres: Folk Metal
YouTube official site


This Bavarian band have risen to prominence rather quickly, having released a little-known but well-respected debut album Turis Fratyr in 2005 before signing to Nuclear Blast and busting the doors wide open with 2008's Sagas. This is majestic, symphonic folk metal, bringing to mind bands such as Turisas, Ensiferum, Finntroll (very clear influences here), and from a symphonic but non-folk angle, perhaps a bit of Bal-Sagoth. There's a lot going on, with sweeping keyboards, snarled blackened vocals, a smattering of pan flutes and assorted folk instruments, and a general feeling of grandeur. There are criticisms -- the production is almost too pristine, the album sounds more like the sum of its influences rather than something really unique, and with all of the songs adopting a similar bombastic attitude, it can all be a bit much. Nonetheless, it's an impressive effort. Many have tabbed Sagas as the penultimate folk metal album, and it's easy to see why -- for fans of the genre, this is absolutely essential.

Current Members

Robert Dahn


René Berthiaume


Former Members/Guests

Helge Stang


Andreas Völki


Sandra van Eldik


Julius Koblitzek


Manuel DiCamillo


Tuval Refaeli



Turis Fratyr 
2005 Black Attakk
  1. Turis Fratyr
  2. Wingthors Hammer
  3. Unter der Eiche
  4. Der Sturm
  5. Widars Hallen
  6. Met
  7. Heimdalls Ruf
  8. Die Prophezeiung
  9. Nordheim
  10. Im Fackelschein
  11. Tote Heldensagen
  12. Wald der Freiheit
  • Helge Stang
  • René Berthiaume
  • Andreas Völki
  • Sandra van Eldik
  • Julius Koblitzek

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm 

2008 Nuclear Blast
  1. Prolog auf Erden
  2. Wurzelbert
  3. Blut im Auge
  4. Unbesiegt
  5. Verrat
  6. Snüffel
  7. Heimwärts
  8. Heiderauche
  9. Die Weide und der Fluß
  10. Des Sängers Fluch
  11. Ruf in den Wind
  12. Dämmerung
  13. Mana
  • Helge Stang
  • René Berthiaume
  • Andreas Völki
  • Sandra van Eldik
  • Manuel DiCamillo

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm  Metal Storm 

2010 Nuclear Blast
  1. In Heiligen Hallen
  2. Der Ewige Sieg
  3. Verbrannte Erde
  4. Die Affeninsel
  5. Der Wassermann
  6. Aus Ferner Zeit
  7. Fahrtwind
  8. Wenn Erdreich Bricht
  9. Kurzes Epos
  • Robert Dahn
  • René Berthiaume
  • Andreas Völki
  • Sandra van Eldik
  • Tuval Refaeli

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Angry Metal Guy 

(EP) Waldschrein 
2013 Nuclear Blast
  1. Waldschrein
  2. Der Sturm (2013)
  3. Zwergenhammer
  4. Himmelsrand
  5. Waldschrein (Acoustic version)
  • Robert Dahn
  • René Berthiaume
  • Andreas Völki
  • Sandra van Eldik
  • Tuval Refaeli

2014 Nuclear Blast
  1. Ankunft
  2. Was lange währt
  3. Waldschrein
  4. Karawane
  5. Uns'rer Flöten Klang
  6. Freiflug
  7. Heavy Chill
  8. Wirtshaus Gaudi
  9. Stein meiner Ahnen
  10. Wellengang
  11. Apokalypse
  12. The Unknown Episode
  • Robert Dahn
  • René Berthiaume

Reviews:   Teeth Of The Divine 

2016 Nuclear Blast
  1. Sehnsucht
  2. Erwachen
  3. Katharsis
  4. Heimat
  5. Born to Be Epic
  6. Zum Horizont
  7. Rise Again
  8. Prey
  9. Helden
  10. Koyaaniskatsi
  11. Eternal Destination

Reviews:   Metal Storm 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!