Origin: Gothenburg, Sweden
Genres: Melodic Death Metal
official site


This new band is one of those minor supergroups, featuring members from several well-known Swedish bands, and is one of a trio of groups that eventually emerged following the disbanding of The Crown (guitarist Niclas Engelin is the leader here). In due time a debut album was released in 2007, in the form of Absolute Design. This slots best under the melodic death banner, but more the modern version rather than the classic style that In Flames and Dark Tranquillity pioneered back in the day. Here, there are traces of metalcore and even nu-metal (particularly the downtuned guitars) thrown into the mix, and typical modern vocals that alternate between a hardcore-ish scream and clean chorus vocals. While there are some decent ideas here, overall Absolute Design isn't terribly unique. It's certainly not a bad album (the pedigree of the various members prevents that), but it never really establishes itself as anything more than just another new-millennium aggressive melodeath-core album. Apparently some industrial elements have been introduced in subsequent albums.

Current Members

Mikael Sehlin


Niclas Engelin

guitars (ex-Gardenian, In Flames, ex-Passenger)

Marcus Sunesson

guitars (ex-The Crown)

Steve Drennan


Oscar Nilsson


Former Members/Guests

Mangan Klavborn


Mikael Håkansson


Daniel Moilanen

drums (Katatonia, ex-The Project Hate, Runemagick)

Jimmy Olausson



Absolute Design 
2007 Steamhammer/SPV
  1. In Splendour
  2. Casket Closing
  3. Next Closed Door
  4. The Hurricane Season
  5. Propaganda
  6. The Paraclete
  7. Scyth
  8. Descend
  9. Trial & Error
  10. I'm the One
  11. Calling Out
  12. Seven Ends
  • Mangan Klavborn
  • Niclas Engelin
  • Marcus Sunesson
  • Mikael Håkansson
  • Daniel Moilanen

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm 

2010 Steamhammer/SPV
  1. Threnody
  2. Sense the Fire
  3. Until Eternity Ends
  4. To the End
  5. Down
  6. Heartsick
  7. Feed the Weak
  8. For Those Who Will Resist
  9. Every Sin (Leaves a Mark)
  10. Roll the Dice
  11. Elbow and Knives
  12. Perfect Isis
  13. Fearless (bonus track)
  • Mangan Klavborn
  • Niclas Engelin
  • Marcus Sunesson
  • Steve Drennan
  • Jimmy Olausson

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground 

Blood Of Saints 
2012 Season Of Mist
  1. Question Your Place
  2. Frontline
  3. Feel Afraid
  4. Numb
  5. Cash King
  6. One Good Thing
  7. Blood of Saints
  8. Down to Nothing
  9. Drama Queen
  10. In Darkness
  11. Journeys End
  • Mangan Klavborn
  • Niclas Engelin
  • Marcus Sunesson
  • Steve Drennan
  • Jimmy Olausson

Reviews:   Brave Words 

Raven Kings 
2014 Gain
  • Mikael Sehlin
  • Niclas Engelin
  • Marcus Sunesson
  • Steve Drennan
  • Oscar Nilsson


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!