Origin: Finland
Genres: Power Metal
official site


The core of this Finnish band started playing together as far back as 1993, in a band called Iron Heat. After awhile they changed to Fairytale, and in the succeeding years they recorded demos and won over fans with their live shows. In 2001 they wisely changed name again, to Dyecast, and as Dyecast they won a record contract with Noise Records as part of the Young Metal Gods competition 2003. As they were recording their debut album, they were forced to change name yet again, as an American band named Diecast thought the Finns' name was too similar. So Dyecrest they became, and in 2004 their debut album, The Way Of Pain, was finally released. Though only a debut album, the band's hard work and maturity shine here, as this is a well-constructed melodic power metal album, short on speed or technicality but long on straightforward, catchy metal tunes. They released their sophomore album, This Is My World, a year later.

Current Members

Kimmo Blom


Pirkka Ohlis

guitars/backing vocals

Matti Pasanen

guitars/backing vocals

Henri Arola


Jukka Matilainen


Niko Takala


Former Members/Guests

Janne Oksanen



The Way Of Pain 
2004 Noise
  1. For All The Weak
  2. Into the Void
  3. Made Me Believe
  4. Last Man Standing
  5. Lost Faith
  6. The Game
  7. Kneeling Down
  8. All in Vain
  9. Until Death Do Us Part
  10. With Pain
  • Janne Oksanen
  • Pirkka Ohlis
  • Matti Pasanen
  • Henri Arola
  • Jukka Matilainen
  • Niko Takala

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Storm 

This Is My World 
2005 Dockyard 1
  1. Fight Fear With Fire
  2. Rush Of Life
  3. Hollow
  4. Man Who Was Me
  5. Dream Of Crown
  6. Failed One
  7. Banished
  8. My Only Sin
  9. Credulous Soul
  10. Took My Will To Feel
  • Kimmo Blom
  • Pirkka Ohlis
  • Matti Pasanen
  • Henri Arola
  • Jukka Matilainen
  • Niko Takala

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal  Metal Storm 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!