Origin: Netherlands
Genres: Gothic Metal
official site


Delain is a spinoff of the Dutch symphonic band Within Temptation, with keyboardist Martijn Westerholt leaving his former band for health reasons; while recovering, he continued to compose music, music that would eventually become Delain. His first album (Lucidity) is driven by an impressive array of guest appearances, including his former bandmate Sharon del Adel, Liv Kristine (Leaves' Eyes, Theatre Of Tragedy), Marco Hietala of Nightwish, and many others. Eventually a proper band was put together for the followup, 2009's April Rain. The Dutch seem to have a monopoly on quality female-fronted symphonic gothic metal, what with Within Temptation, Epica, After Forever, and of course The Gathering leading the way. Delain is somewhat more poppy than some of those bands, and not surprisingly a bit more keyboard-dominated, but Charlotte Wessels puts in a strong vocal performance, and overall the songs are strong, if a shade on the commercial side. This band isn't quite at the forefront of the gothic scene, but give 'em time and they might make a run at it.

Current Members

Charlotte Wessels


Timo Somers


Marel Bechtold


Otto van der Oije


Martijn Westerholt

keyboards (ex-Within Temptation)

Ruben Israel


Former Members/Guests

Ronald Landa


Rob van der Loo

bass (Epica, ex-Sun Caged)

Sander Zoer



2006 Roadrunner
  1. Sever
  2. Frozen
  3. Silhouette of a Dancer
  4. No Compliance
  5. See Me in Shadow
  6. Shattered
  7. The Gathering
  8. Daylight Lucidity
  9. Sleepwalker's Dream
  10. Day for Ghosts
  11. Pristine
  12. Deep Frozen (Grunt version of "Frozen")(Bonus Track)
  • Martijn Westerholt

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

April Rain 
2009 Roadrunner
  1. April Rain
  2. Stay Forever
  3. Invidia
  4. Control The Storm
  5. On The Other Side
  6. Virtue And Vice
  7. Go Away
  8. Start Swimming
  9. Lost
  10. I'll Reach You
  11. Nothing Left
  • Charlotte Wessels
  • Ronald Landa
  • Rob van der Loo
  • Martijn Westerholt
  • Sander Zoer

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Metal Observer 

We Are The Others 
2012 Roadrunner
  1. Mother Machine
  2. Electricity
  3. We are the Others
  4. Milk and Honey
  5. Hit Me With your Best Shot
  6. I Want You
  7. Where is the Blood
  8. Generation Me
  9. Babylon
  10. Are You Done with Me?
  11. Get the Devil Out of Me
  12. Not Enough
  • Charlotte Wessels
  • Timo Somers
  • Otto van der Oije
  • Martijn Westerholt
  • Sander Zoer

The Human Contradiction 
2014 Napalm
  1. Here Come the Vultures
  2. Your Body Is a Battleground
  3. Stardust
  4. My Masquerade
  5. Tell Me, Mechanist
  6. Sing to Me
  7. Army of Dolls
  8. Lullaby
  9. The Tragedy of the Commons
  • Charlotte Wessels
  • Timo Somers
  • Otto van der Oije
  • Martijn Westerholt
  • Sander Zoer


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!