Origin: New Orleans, LA, USA
Genres: Sludge Metal
Facebook Twitter


Crowbar emerged from the Louisana scene in the early nineties, and they are a perfect representative of the style of music that has frequently emanated from that area -- depressively slow, downtuned riffing, and vocals that verge on hardcore. Indeed, the roster of current and former Crowbar members practically encompasses the entire NOLA scene of the past decade, with representatives from Down, Acid Bath, Eyehategod, and others.

Current Members

Kirk Windstein

vocals/guitars (ex-Down, Kingdom Of Sorrow, ex-Valume Nob)

Matthew Brunson

guitars (Kingdom Of Sorrow)

Todd Strange

bass (ex-Down)

Tommy Buckley

drums (Soilent Green)

Former Members/Guests

Kevin Noonan


Matt Thomas


Sammy Pierre Duet

guitars (ex-Acid Bath, Goatwhore)

Jeff Okoneski


Rex Brown

bass (ex-Down, Kill Devil Hill, ex-Pantera)

Patrick Bruders

bass (Down, ex-Goatwhore)

Jeff Golden


Craig Nunenmacher

drums (ex-Black Label Society)

Jimmy Bower

drums (ex-Corrosion Of Conformity, ex-Debris Inc., Down, Eyehategod, Superjoint)

Sid Montz

drums (Valume Nob)

Tony Costanza



Obedience Through Suffering 
1992 Grindcore
  1. Waiting in Silence
  2. I Despise
  3. A Breed Apart
  4. Obedience Thru Suffering
  5. Vacuum
  6. Four Walls
  7. Subversion
  8. Feeding Fear
  9. My Agony
  10. The Innocent
  • Kirk Windstein
  • Kevin Noonan
  • Todd Strange
  • Craig Nunenmacher

1993 Pavement
  1. High Rate Extinction
  2. All I Had (I Gave)
  3. Will That Never Dies
  4. Fixation
  5. No Quarter
  6. Self Inflicted
  7. Negative Pollution
  8. Existence Is Punishment
  9. Holding Nothing
  10. I Have Failed
  • Kirk Windstein
  • Matt Thomas
  • Todd Strange
  • Craig Nunenmacher

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

(EP) Live + 1 
1994 Pavement
  1. High Rate Extinction
  2. Self Inflicted
  3. Fixation
  4. I Have Failed
  5. All I Had (I Gave)
  6. Numb Sensitive
  • Kirk Windstein
  • Matt Thomas
  • Todd Strange
  • Craig Nunenmacher

Time Heals Nothing 
1995 Pavement
  1. The Only Factor
  2. No More Can We Crawl
  3. Time Heals Nothing
  4. Leave It Behind
  5. Through A Wall Of Tears
  6. Lack Of Tolerance
  7. Still I Reach
  8. Embracing Emptiness
  9. A Perpetual Need
  10. Numb Sensitive
  • Kirk Windstein
  • Matt Thomas
  • Todd Strange
  • Craig Nunenmacher

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal  Sputnik Music 

Broken Glass 
1996 Pavement
  1. Conquering
  2. Like Broken Glass
  3. (Can't) Turn Away From Dying
  4. Wrath Of Time Be Judgement
  5. Nothing
  6. Burn Your World
  7. I Am Forever
  8. Above, Below And Inbetween
  9. You Now (I'll Live Again)
  10. Reborn Thru Me
  • Kirk Windstein
  • Matt Thomas
  • Sammy Pierre Duet
  • Todd Strange
  • Jimmy Bower

Past And Present  COMPILATION
1997 Pavement
  1. All I Had (I Gave)
  2. Existence Is Punishment
  3. The Only Factor
  4. Still I Reach
  5. Vacum
  6. Subversion
  7. Waiting in Silence
  8. High Rate Extinction
  9. I Have Failed
  10. Fixation (live)
  11. Four Walls (live)
  12. Self-Inflicted

Odd Fellows Rest 
1998 Mayhem
  1. Intro
  2. Planets Collide
  3. ...And Suffer As One
  4. 1,000 Years Internal War
  5. To Carry The Load
  6. December's Spawn
  7. It's All In The Gravity
  8. Behind The Black Horizon
  9. New Man Born
  10. Scattered Pieces Lay
  11. Odd Fellows Rest
  12. On Frozen Ground
  • Kirk Windstein
  • Sammy Pierre Duet
  • Todd Strange
  • Jimmy Bower

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Sputnik Music 

2000 Spitfire
  1. I Feel the Burning Sun
  2. Equilibrium
  3. Glass Full of Liquid Pain
  4. Command of Myself
  5. Down Into the Rotting Earth
  6. To Touch the Hand of God
  7. Uncovering
  8. Buried Once Again
  9. Things You Can't Understand
  10. Euphoria Minus One
  11. Dream Weaver
  • Kirk Windstein
  • Sammy Pierre Duet
  • Todd Strange
  • Sid Montz

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Brave Words  New Noise Magazine  Sputnik Music 

2000 Spitfire
  1. All I Had (I Gave)
  2. Existence is Punishment
  3. The Only Factor
  4. Vacuum
  5. Subversion
  6. Waiting in Silence
  7. High Rate Extinction
  8. I Have Failed
  9. Fixation (live)
  10. Odd Fellows Rest
  11. Planets Collide
  12. And Suffer As One
  13. Glass Full of Liquid Pain
  14. Buried Once Again
  15. Dream Weaver

Sonic Excess In Its Purest Form 
2001 Spitfire
  1. The Lasting Dose
  2. To Build a Mountain
  3. Thru the Ashes (Iíve Watched you Burn)
  4. Awakening
  5. Repulsion in its Splendid Beauty
  6. Counting Daze
  7. In Times Of Sorrow
  8. It Pours From Me
  9. Suffering Brings Wisdom
  10. Failure to Delay Gratification
  11. Empty Room
  • Kirk Windstein
  • Sammy Pierre Duet
  • Jeff Okoneski
  • Tony Costanza

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Brave Words  Sputnik Music 

Lifesblood For The Downtrodden 
2005 Candlelight
  1. New Dawn
  2. Slave No More
  3. Angelís Wings
  4. Coming Down
  5. Fall Back to Zero
  6. Underworld
  7. Dead Sun
  8. Holding Something
  9. Moon
  10. The Violent Reaction
  11. Lifesblood
  • Kirk Windstein
  • Rex Brown
  • Craig Nunenmacher

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Brave Words 

Live: With Full Force 
2007 Candlelight

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

Sever The Wicked Hand 
2011 eOne
  1. Isolation (Desperation)
  2. Sever The Wicked Hand
  3. Liquid Sky And Cold Black Earth
  4. Let Me Mourn
  5. The Cemetery Angels
  6. As I Become One
  7. A Farewell to Misery
  8. Protectors Of The Shrine
  9. I Only Deal In Truth
  10. Echo An Eternity
  11. Cleanse Me, Heal Me
  12. Symbiosis
  • Kirk Windstein
  • Matthew Brunson
  • Patrick Bruders
  • Tommy Buckley

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Angry Metal Guy 

Symmetry In Black 
2014 eOne
  1. Walk with Knowledge Wisely
  2. Symmetry in White
  3. The Taste of Dying
  4. Reflection of Deceit
  5. Ageless Decay
  6. Amaranthine
  7. The Foreboding
  8. Shaman of Belief
  9. Teach the Blind to See
  10. A Wealth of Empathy
  11. Symbolic Suicide
  12. The Piety of Self-Loathing
  • Kirk Windstein
  • Matthew Brunson
  • Jeff Golden
  • Tommy Buckley

Reviews:   Metal Observer  Metal Riot 

The Serpent Only Lies 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!