Origin: Norway
Genres: Black Metal
official site YouTube Facebook


Burzum features arguably the most infamous figure in Norwegian black metal, that being one Count Grishnach (real name Christian "Varg" Vikernes). The band evolved from an early band called Uruk-Hai, a band that broke up in 1990. After playing in some short-lived projects (one of which featured future members of Immortal), Vikernes resurrected Uruk-Hai, renamed it Burzum, and continued as a one-man project. Along the way he became one of the leaders of the Inner Circle of black metal musicians and friends, who were responsible for various church burnings and the like in the early nineties. Then came the famous murder of then-bandmate Euronymous of Mayhem (whom Vikernes had recently joined) in 1993, and Vikernes was convicted for the crime and sent to prison, where he remained until the spring of 2009.

From a musical standpoint, the opinion here is that the legacy of Varg the person will always be more lasting and noteworthy than that of Burzum the band. This is not to say that the music is inconsequential, as it is clear that much of the early work was enormously influential to the black metal scene that would blossom in the nineties (the post-jail Burzum recordings are mentioned a bit later below), and in some respects very interesting on its own merits. Burzum relied less far less on blastbeats and raw speed than most black metal bands, but instead focused on midpaced, drawn out riffs with a decidedly haunting tone, with Vikernes' vocals (harsh and tortured even by black metal standards) adding a measure of evil to the mix. Varg's personal life will seemingly always keep the Burzum name in the spotlight, but there is no denying his musical influence on the black metal scene.

Though Vikernes was imprisoned in the early nineties, he continued to release music as Burzum (Filosofem was the last pre-prison album, recorded before his imprisonment though released afterward), but confined to keyboard arrangements. As such, albums such as Daudi Baldrs have nothing to do with metal in any regard. At best, some songs have an interesting new age tone, while other songs come across as quite simplistic arrangements that really don't go anywhere.

Now that Vikernes is out of prison, Burzum is apparently active once again, as a new album has been announced for release in the spring of 2010.

Current Members

Count Grishnackh (Varg Vikernes)

vocals/all instruments (ex-Mayhem, ex-Old Funeral)

Former Members/Guests

Samoth (Tomas Haugen)

bass (ex-Arcturus, Emperor, ex-Gorgoroth, ex-Satyricon, Scum, The Wretched End, ex-Zyklon, ex-Zyklon-B)


1993 Deathlike Silence
  1. Feeble Screams From Forests Unknown
  2. Ea, Lord Of The Deeps
  3. Black Spell Of Destruction
  4. Chanelling The Power Of Souls Into A New God
  5. War
  6. The Crying Orc
  7. A Lost Forgotten Sad Spirit
  8. My Journey To The Stars
  9. Dungeons Of Darkness
  • Count Grishnackh

Reviews:   Metal Storm 

(EP) Aske 
1993 Deathlike Silence
  1. Aske
  2. Stemmen Fra Taarnet
  3. Dominus Sathanas
  4. A Lost Forgotten Spirit
  • Count Grishnackh
  • Samoth

Det Som En Gang Var 
1994 Misanthropy
  1. Onde Kysten
  2. Key To The Gate
  3. En Ring Til Aa Herske
  4. Lost Wisdom
  5. Han Som Reiste
  6. Naar Himmelen Klarner
  7. Snu Mikrokosmos Tegn
  8. Svarte Troner
  • Count Grishnackh

Hvis Lyset Tar Oss 
1994 Misanthropy
  1. Det Som En Gang Var
  2. Hvis Lyset Tar Oss
  3. Inn I Slottet Fra Droemmen
  4. Tomhet
  • Count Grishnackh

Reviews:   Sputnik Music  Metal Storm 

1996 Misanthropy
  1. Dunkelheit (Darkness)
  2. Jesus Tod
  3. Erblickte Die Tchter Des Fermaments
  4. Gebrechlichkeit (Decrepitude)
  5. Rundgang Um Die Tranzendentale Saule Der Singularitat
  6. Gebrechlichkeit II (Decrepitude Part Two)
  • Count Grishnackh

Reviews:   Sputnik Music  Metal Storm 

Daudi Baldrs 
1997 Misanthropy
  1. Daudi Baldrs
  2. Hermodr A Helferd
  3. Balferd Baldrs
  4. I Heimr Heijar
  5. Illa Tidandi
  6. Moti Ragnarokum
  • Count Grishnackh

Reviews:   Sputnik Music 

1999 Misanthropy
  1. Tuistos Herz
  2. Der Tod Wuotans
  3. Ansuegardaraitivo
  4. Die Liebe Nerus
  5. Das Einsame Trauern Von Frijo
  6. Die Kraft des Mitgetuhls
  7. Frijos Goldene Tranen
  8. Der Weinende Hadnar
  • Count Grishnackh

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Sputnik Music 

  1. Leukes Renkespill (Introduksjon)
  2. Belus' Dd
  3. Glemselens Elv
  4. Kaimadalthas' Nedstigning
  5. Sverddans
  6. Keliohesten
  7. Morgenrde
  8. Belus' Tilbakekomst (Konklusjon)
  • Count Grishnackh

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Sputnik Music  Metal Storm 

  1. Fra Verdenstreet
  2. Jeg Faller
  3. Valen
  4. Vanvidd
  5. Enhver til Sitt
  6. Budstikken
  7. Til Hel og Tilbake Igjen
  • Count Grishnackh

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Metal Review  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Metal Riot  Angry Metal Guy  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm 

  1. Blstokkinn
  2. Jln
  3. Alfadanz
  4. Hit helga Tr
  5. ra
  6. Heir
  7. Valgaldr
  8. Galgvir
  9. Surtr Sunnan
  10. Gullaldr
  11. Nhggr
  • Count Grishnackh

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Sputnik Music  Metal Storm  Metal Storm 

Sl Austan, Mni Vestan 
  1. Sl austan
  2. Rnar munt finna
  3. Slarrs
  4. Haugaeldr
  5. Ferahellir
  6. Slargui
  7. Ganga at slu
  8. H
  9. Heljarmyrkr
  10. Mni vestan
  11. Slbjrg
  • Count Grishnackh

The Ways Of Yore 
  1. God from the Machine
  2. The Portal
  3. Heill inn
  4. The Lady in the Lake
  5. The Coming of Ettins
  6. The Reckoning of Man
  7. Heil Freyja
  8. The Ways of Yore
  9. Ek fellr (I Am Falling)
  10. Hall of the Fallen
  11. Autumn Leaves
  12. Emptiness
  13. To Hel and Back Again

Reviews:   Sputnik Music 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!