Origin: San Diego, CA, USA
Genres: Traditional Metal
official site


San Diegoís Benedictum formed in 2005 and was more or less discovered by Dio guitarist Craig Goldy (another Dio connection Ė Benedictumís debut album, Uncreation, was produced by former Dio bassist Jeff Pilson). Vocalist Veronica Freeman is quite a find Ė unlike most women vocalists in metal (the majority of which are of in the graceful gothic metal category, the rest of which go for the other extreme of death metal), Freemanís voice is pure metal, powerful and confident (the inclusion of not one, but two Dio-era Black Sabbath covers gives a good indication of her style, as well as the bandís direction). Benedictum is not a Dio worship band, though, as they draw from several 80ís metal influences (Metal Church, to name one) to forge a solid metal foundation. Now four albums in, the band hasn't hit the big time but has maintained a solid career.

Current Members

Veronica Freeman


Pete Wells


Aric Avina

bass (ex-Tynator)

Rikard Stjernquist

drums (ex-Ballistic, Jag Panzer, Sargon)

Former Members/Guests

Jesse Wright


Chris Shrum


Chris Morgan

keyboards (StormHammer)

Tony Diaz


Blackie Sanchez


Paul Courtois



2006 Locomotive
  1. Uncreation
  2. Benedictum
  3. #4
  4. Misogyny
  5. Ashes to Ashes
  6. Wicca
  7. Heaven and Hell
  8. Them
  9. Two Steps to the Sun
  10. Valkyrie Rising
  11. The Mob Rules
  • Veronica Freeman
  • Pete Wells
  • Jesse Wright
  • Chris Morgan
  • Blackie Sanchez

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

Seasons Of Tragedy 
2008 Locomotive
  1. Dawn of Seasons
  2. Shell Shock
  3. Burn it Out
  4. Bare Bones
  5. Within the Solace
  6. Beast in the Field
  7. Legacy
  8. Nobodies Victim
  9. Balls to the Wall
  10. Steel Rain
  11. Seasons of Tragedy
  • Veronica Freeman
  • Pete Wells
  • Jesse Wright
  • Chris Morgan
  • Paul Courtois

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Sea Of Tranquility 

2011 Frontiers
  1. Dominion
  2. At The Gates
  3. Seer
  4. Grind It
  5. Prodigal Son
  6. The Shadowlands
  7. Beautiful Pain
  8. Dark Heart
  9. Bang
  10. Loud Silence
  11. Epsilon
  12. Sanctuary (bonus track)
  13. Overture/The Temples of Syrinx (bonus track)
  • Veronica Freeman
  • Pete Wells
  • Chris Shrum
  • Tony Diaz
  • Paul Courtois

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground 

2013 Frontiers
  1. Dream Of The Banshee
  2. Fractured
  3. Obey
  4. Fighting For My Life
  5. Scream
  6. Evil That We Do
  7. Crossing Over
  8. Cry
  9. Thornz
  10. Die To Love You
  11. Apex Nation
  12. Retrograde
  • Veronica Freeman
  • Pete Wells
  • Aric Avina
  • Rikard Stjernquist


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!