Origin: Germany
Genres: Power Metal
official site


Avantasia is a running solo project for Edguy vocalist Tobias Sammet, initially gaining attention for the two-album epic called The Metal Opera. This is precisely what one might expect given the title and Sammet's background -- solid, expertly crafted German melodic speed/power metal with a grandiose and, well, operatic feel. Over the years Sammet has employed virtually every name vocalist to guest on Avantasia albums, including but not limited to David Defeis (Virgin Steele), Sharon Den Adel (Within Temptation), Kai Hansen (Gamma Ray), Andre Matos (Angra/Angra), Timo Tolkki (Stratovarius), Rob Rock (Warrior), and others. It's been said countless times both on these pages and elsewhere: this form of metal is being done to death in Europe, but there are a few bands that deserve recognition above the rest for doing it better, and Avantasia qualifies in that regard.

Current Members

Tobias Sammet

vocals/bass (Edguy, ex-Revolution Renaissance)

Bruce Kulick

guitars (ex-Kiss)

Oliver Hartmann

guitars (ex-At Vance)

Sascha Paeth

rhythm guitar (ex-Heavens Gate)

Michael Rodenberg


Felix Bohnke

drums (Edguy, ex-Taraxacum)

Former Members/Guests

Henjo Richter

guitars (Gamma Ray)

Markus Grosskopf

bass (Helloween)

Alex Holzwarth

drums (ex-Angra, Dol Ammad, ex-Luca Turilli's Rhapsody, ex-Paradox, Rhapsody Of Fire, ex-Sieges Even)

Eric Singer

drums (ex-Alice Cooper, ex-Badlands, ex-Black Sabbath, Kiss)


(EP) Avantasia 
  1. Reach Out For The Light
  2. Avantasia
  3. The Final Sacrifice
  4. Avantasia (album version)
  • Tobias Sammet
  • Henjo Richter
  • Markus Grosskopf
  • Alex Holzwarth

The Metal Opera 
  1. Prelude
  2. Reach Out For The Light
  3. Serpents In Paradise
  4. Malleus Meleficarum
  5. Breaking Away
  6. Farewell
  7. The Glory Of Rome
  8. In Nomine Patris
  9. Avantasia
  10. A New Dimension
  11. Inside
  12. Sign Of The Cross
  13. The Tower
  • Tobias Sammet
  • Henjo Richter
  • Markus Grosskopf
  • Alex Holzwarth

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Metal Observer 

The Metal Opera, Part II 
  1. The Seven Angels
  2. No Return
  3. The Looking Glass
  4. In Quest For
  5. The Final Sacrifice
  6. Neverland
  7. Anywhere
  8. Chalice Of Agony
  9. Memory
  10. Into The Unknown
  • Tobias Sammet
  • Henjo Richter
  • Markus Grosskopf
  • Alex Holzwarth

(EP) Lost In Space, Part 1 
2007 Nuclear Blast
  1. Lost In Space
  2. Lay All Your Love On Me
  3. Another Angel Down
  4. The Story Ain't Over
  5. Return To Avantasia
  6. Ride The Sky
  • Tobias Sammet
  • Sascha Paeth
  • Eric Singer

(EP) Lost In Space, Part 2 
2007 Nuclear Blast
  1. Lost In Space
  2. Promised Land
  3. Dancing With Tears In My Eyes
  4. Scary Eyes
  5. In My Defense
  6. Lost In Space (Alive at Gatestudio)
  • Tobias Sammet
  • Sascha Paeth
  • Eric Singer

The Scarecrow 
2008 Nuclear Blast
  1. 01 Twisted Mind
  2. 02 The Scarecrow
  3. 03 Shelter From The Rain
  4. 04 Carry Me Over
  5. 05 What Kind Of Love
  6. 06 Another Angel Down
  7. 07 The Toy Master
  8. 08 Devil In The Belfry
  • Tobias Sammet
  • Sascha Paeth
  • Eric Singer

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Metal Observer 

Angel Of Babylon 
2010 Nuclear Blast
  1. Stargazers
  2. Angel Of Babylon
  3. Your Love Is Evil
  4. Death Is Just A Feeling
  5. Rat Race
  6. Down In The Dark
  7. Blowing Out The Flame
  8. Symphony Of Life
  9. Alone I Remember
  10. Promised Land (Part 2)
  11. Journey To Arcadia
  • Tobias Sammet
  • Sascha Paeth
  • Michael Rodenberg
  • Eric Singer

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Metal Observer  Angry Metal Guy 

Wicked Symphony 
2010 Nuclear Blast
  1. The Wicked Symphony
  2. Wastelands
  3. Scales Of Justice
  4. Dying For An Angel
  5. Blizzard On A Broken Mirror
  6. Runaway Train
  7. Crestfallen
  8. Forever Is A Long Time
  9. Black Wings
  10. States Of Matter
  11. The Edge
  • Tobias Sammet
  • Sascha Paeth
  • Michael Rodenberg
  • Eric Singer

The Flying Opera - Around The World In 20 Days 
2011 Nuclear Blast

The Mystery Of Time 
2013 Nuclear Blast
  1. Spectres
  2. The Watchmakers' Dream
  3. Black Orchid
  4. Where Clock Hands Freeze
  5. Sleepwalking
  6. Savior In The Clockwork
  7. Invoke The Machine
  8. What's Left Of Me
  9. Dweller In A Dream
  10. The Great Mystery

2016 Nuclear Blast
  1. Mystery Of A Blood Red Rose
  2. Let The Storm Descend Upon You
  3. The Haunting
  4. Seduction Of Decay
  5. Ghostlights
  6. Draconian Love
  7. Master Of The Pendulum
  8. Isle Of Evermore
  9. Babylon Vampyres
  10. Lucifer
  11. Unchain The Light
  12. A Restless Heart And Obsidian Skies
  13. Wake Up To The Moon (bonus track)
  • Tobias Sammet
  • Bruce Kulick
  • Oliver Hartmann
  • Sascha Paeth
  • Michael Rodenberg
  • Felix Bohnke


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!