Origin: Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Genres: Metalcore
official site

Avenged Sevenfold  

Hailing from Orange County in southern California, Avenged Sevenfold have become quite the mainstream metal sensation. They released two metalcore albums on indie labels before being signed to Warner Brothers for their third album, City Of Evil. By that time vocalist M. Shadows, apparently at the request of doctors, switched his singing voice away from hardcore screams and toward a melodic, nasally tone that several have likened to Axl Rose of all people. Musically, the band still retains some of their metalcore edge, with hook-laden songs blended with breakdowns and such, and the band is tight musicianship-wise. Much of the music, while heavy, is surprisingly upbeat, almost too melodic, though not in the same way that some German power metal bands that end up sounding, for want of a better word, happy. City Of Evil has gotten some great reviews and the band certainly is trendy, though curiously the underground metal press don't seem to have much time for them. Flash-in-the-pan media darlings, or a young band on the road to superstardom? Too soon to tell.

Current Members

M. Shadows (Matt Sanders)


Synyster Gates (Brian Haner)


Zachy Vengeance (Zachary Baker)


Johnny Christ (John Seward)


Brooks Wackerman

drums (ex-Suicidal Tendencies)

Former Members/Guests

Justin Sane


Daemon Ash


The Rev (James Sullivan)

drums RIP: December 28, 2009, drug overdose, age 28

Mike Portnoy (guest)

drums (ex-Adrenaline Mob, Bigelf, ex-Dream Theater, O.S.I.)

Arin Ilejay



(EP) Warmness On The Soul 
2001 Good Life
  1. Warmness On The Soul
  2. Darkness Surrounding
  3. We Come Out At Night
  4. To End The Rapture
  • M. Shadows
  • Zachy Vengeance
  • Justin Sane
  • The Rev

Sounding The Seventh Trumpet 
2002 Hopeless
  1. To End The Rapture
  2. Turn The Other Way
  3. Darkness Surrounding
  4. The Art Of Subconscious Illusion
  5. We Come Out At Night
  6. Lips Of Deceit
  7. Warmness On The Soul
  8. An Epic Of Time Wasted
  9. Breaking Their Hold
  10. Forgotten Faces
  11. Thick And Thin
  12. Streets
  13. Shattered By Broken Dreams
  • M. Shadows
  • Synyster Gates
  • Zachy Vengeance
  • Daemon Ash
  • The Rev

Waking The Fallen 
2003 Hopeless
  1. Waking The Fallen
  2. Unholy Confessions
  3. Chapter Four
  4. Remenissions
  5. Desperate Through Reverence
  6. Eternal Rest
  7. Second Heartbeat
  8. Radiant Eclipse
  9. I Won't See You Tonight Part 1
  10. I Won't See You Tonight Part 2
  11. Clairvoyant Disease
  12. And All Things Will End
  • M. Shadows
  • Synyster Gates
  • Zachy Vengeance
  • Johnny Christ
  • The Rev

Reviews:   Sputnik Music 

City Of Evil 
2005 Warner Bros.
  1. Beast and the Harlot
  2. Burn It Down
  3. Blinded in Chains
  4. Bat Country
  5. Trashed and Scattered
  6. Seize the Day
  7. Sidewinder
  8. Wicked End
  9. Strength of the World
  10. Betrayed
  11. M.I.A.
  • M. Shadows
  • Synyster Gates
  • Zachy Vengeance
  • Johnny Christ
  • The Rev

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Sputnik Music 

Avenged Sevenfold 
2007 Warner Bros.
  1. Critical Acclaim
  2. Almost Easy
  3. Scream
  4. Afterlife
  5. Gunslinger
  6. Unbound (The Wild Ride)
  7. Brompton Cocktail
  8. Lost
  9. A Little Piece Of Heaven
  10. Dear God
  • M. Shadows
  • Synyster Gates
  • Zachy Vengeance
  • Johnny Christ
  • The Rev

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Sputnik Music  Metal Storm 

Live In The LBC & Diamonds In The Rough (DVD+CD) 
2008 Warner Bros.
  1. Demons
  2. Girl I Know
  3. Crossroads
  4. Flash Of The Blade
  5. Until The End
  6. Tension
  7. Walk
  8. The Fight
  9. Dancing Dead
  10. Almost Easy
CD of unreleased tracks (above) + DVD.

2010 Warner Bros.
  1. Nightmare
  2. Welcome To The Family
  3. Danger Line
  4. Buried Alive
  5. Natural Born Killer
  6. So Far Away
  7. God Hates Us
  8. Victim
  9. Tonight The World Dies
  10. Fiction
  11. Save Me
  12. Nightmare
  13. Welcome to the Family
  14. Danger Line
  15. Buried Alive
  16. Natural Born Killer
  17. So Far Away
  18. God Hates Us
  19. Victim
  20. Tonight the World Dies
  21. Fiction
  22. Save Me
  • M. Shadows
  • Synyster Gates
  • Zachy Vengeance
  • Johnny Christ
  • Mike Portnoy

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Metal Underground  Sputnik Music  Metal Storm 

Hail To The King 
2013 Warner Bros.
  1. Shepherd of Fire
  2. Hail to the King
  3. Doing Time
  4. This Means War
  5. Requiem
  6. Crimson Day
  7. Heretic
  8. Coming Home
  9. Planets
  10. Acid Rain
  • M. Shadows
  • Synyster Gates
  • Zachy Vengeance
  • Johnny Christ
  • Arin Ilejay

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Brave Words  Sputnik Music  Metal Storm 

The Stage 
2016 Capitol
  1. The Stage ()
  2. Paradigm ()
  3. Sunny Disposition ()
  4. God Damn ()
  5. Creating God ()
  6. Angels ()
  7. Simulation ()
  8. Higher ()
  9. Roman Sky ()
  10. Fermi Paradox ()
  11. Exist ()

Reviews:   Metal Storm 

Best Of 2005 - 2013  COMPILATION
2016 Warner Bros.
  1. Bat Country (radio edit)
  2. Beast and the Harlot (radio edit)
  3. Seize the Day (radio edit)
  4. Critical Acclaim
  5. Almost Easy
  6. Afterlife
  7. Dear God
  8. A Little Piece of Heaven
  9. Nightmare (radio edit)
  10. Welcome to the Family
  11. So Far Away (radio edit)
  12. Hail to the King (radio edit)
  13. Shepherd of Fire (radio edit)
  14. Walk (Pantera cover)
  15. Flash of the Blade (Iron Maiden cover)
  16. Paranoid (Black Sabbath cover)
  17. Carry On
  18. Not Ready to Die


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!