Origin: Germany
Genres: Death Metal, Industrial
official site


One of Germany's most enduring metal bands, Atrocity deserves a nomination for Most Unconventional Recording Career for a metal band. Having released Hallucinations in 1990, the band was hailed as a death metal innovator, with a rather twisted, dark, technical style molded around a solid death metal base. A solid followup in Todessehnsucht (re-titled, against the band's wishes, as Longing For Death) further solidified their popularity. But it was 1994's B.L.U.T. that started the trend toward unconventionalism -- loosely based on a vampire theme and sounding little like their past work, the album seemed to confuse, and in some cases alienate, fans and critics alike, though in fact the album is quite worthwhile. The succeeding years found Atrocity experimenting in all sorts of areas, with one album featuring the vocalist's sister as guest vocalist (Calling The Rain), another album a collaboration with the German new wave duo Das Ich (on Die Liebe), and perhaps most dramatic, an album consisting entirely of covers of 80's pop tunes (Werk 80), which simply has to be heard to be believed. Clearly not the career of a band afraid to take chances.

Finally, in 2000 the band released Gemini. It might be simplistic to say that any band that sings in German with a techno beat sounds like Rammstein, but in fact there is quite a similarity to that group on more than one occasion (also featured here is an interesting cover of Simon and Garfunkel's "The Sound Of Silence", a duet with Liv Kristine of Theatre Of Tragedy, who also guested on Werk 80). And, except for those who only wish a return to their early days, this new direction is not a bad thing, as Gemini is a great album. 2004 sees the release of the followup to Gemini, that being Atlantis (not yet reviewed here).

Current Members

Alexander Krull

vocals (Leaves' Eyes)

Thorsten Bauer

guitars (Leaves' Eyes)

Sander van der Meer

guitars (ex-Leaves' Eyes)

Joris Nijenhuis

drums (ex-Elexorien, Leaves' Eyes)

Former Members/Guests

Yasmin Krull (guest)


Mathias Roderer

guitars (ex-Leaves' Eyes)

Richard Scharff


Oliver Klassen


Markus Knapp


Christian Lukhaup

bass (ex-Leaves' Eyes)

Alla Fedynitch

bass (ex-Enemy Of The Sun, ex-Leaves' Eyes)

Michael Schwarz


Martin Schmidt


Roland Navratil

drums (ex-Edenbridge, ex-Leaves' Eyes)


1990 Roadrunner
  1. Deep in your subconscious
  2. Life is a long and silent river
  3. Fatal Step
  4. Abyss of addiction
  5. Hallucinations
  6. Defeated Intellect
  7. Last temptation
  • Alexander Krull
  • Mathias Roderer
  • Richard Scharff
  • Oliver Klassen
  • Michael Schwarz

Todessehnsucht (also: Longing For Death) 
1992 Roadrunner
  1. Todessehnsucht
  2. Godless Years
  3. Unspoken Names
  4. Defiance
  5. Triumph At Dawn
  6. Introduction
  7. Sky Turned Red
  8. Necropolis
  9. A Prison Called Earth
  10. Todessehnsucht (Reprise)
  11. Archangel
  • Alexander Krull
  • Mathias Roderer
  • Richard Scharff
  • Michael Schwarz

1994 Roadrunner
  1. Trial
  2. Miss Directed
  3. ...In My Veins
  4. B.L.U.T. (Blood-lust, Under Trance)
  5. I'm In Darkness
  6. Calling The RPain
  7. Moon-struck
  8. Ever And Amon
  9. Begotten Son (Of Wrath)
  10. Into The Maze
  11. Goddess In Black
  12. Threnody
  13. Soul Embrace (Instrumental)
  14. Land Beyond The Forest
  • Alexander Krull
  • Mathias Roderer
  • Richard Scharff
  • Markus Knapp
  • Michael Schwarz

Die Liebe 
1995 Massacre
  1. Die Liebe
  2. Moonstrucker
  3. Bloodlust (undead trance)
  4. Misdirected
  5. Parentalia
  6. Trial by Ordeal
  7. Unschuld
  8. Von Leid und Elend und Seelenqualen
  9. Die Todgeweihten
  • Alexander Krull
  • Mathias Roderer
  • Richard Scharff
  • Christian Lukhaup
  • Michael Schwarz

Calling The Rain 
1995 Massacre
  • Alexander Krull
  • Yasmin Krull
  • Mathias Roderer
  • Richard Scharff
  • Thorsten Bauer
  • Markus Knapp
  • Christian Lukhaup
  • Michael Schwarz

1996 Massacre
  1. Intro
  2. Scorching Breath
  3. Deliverance
  4. Blood-Stained Prophecy
  5. Love Is Dead
  6. We Are Degeneration
  7. Willenskraft
  8. For Ever And A Day
  9. Seal Of Secrecy
  10. Down Below
  11. The Hunt
  • Alexander Krull
  • Mathias Roderer
  • Thorsten Bauer
  • Christian Lukhaup
  • Michael Schwarz

Werk 80 
1997 Massacre
  1. Shout
  2. Wild Boys
  3. The Great Commandment
  4. Send Me An Angel
  5. Tainted Love
  6. Der Mussolini
  7. Being Boiled
  8. Let's Dance
  9. Maid Of Orleans
  • Alexander Krull
  • Mathias Roderer
  • Thorsten Bauer
  • Christian Lukhaup
  • Michael Schwarz

Non Plus Extra 
1999 Massacre
  • Alexander Krull
  • Mathias Roderer
  • Thorsten Bauer
  • Christian Lukhaup
  • Martin Schmidt

2000 Massacre
  1. Taste of Sin
  2. Zauberstab
  3. Tanz mit dem Teufel
  4. Liebesspiel
  5. Wilder Schmetterling
  6. Sound of silence
  7. Das Gebot
  8. Sometimes...a nightsong
  9. Seasons in black
  10. Gemini
  11. Lili Marleen
  • Alexander Krull
  • Mathias Roderer
  • Thorsten Bauer
  • Christian Lukhaup
  • Martin Schmidt
2000 BNR Top Ten album

2004 Napalm
  1. Reich Of Phenomena
  2. Superior Race
  3. Gods Of Nations
  4. Ichor
  5. Enigma
  6. Morbid Mind
  7. Omen
  8. Cold Black Days
  9. Atlantean Empire
  10. Clash Of The Titans
  11. Apocalypse
  12. Lost Eden
  13. The Sunken Paradise
  14. Aeon
  15. Ein Volk
  • Alexander Krull
  • Mathias Roderer
  • Thorsten Bauer
  • Christian Lukhaup
  • Martin Schmidt

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal  Metal Storm 

Werk 80 II 
2008 Napalm
  1. People Are People
  2. Smalltown Boy
  3. Relax
  4. Don't You (Forget About Me)
  5. The Sun Always Shines on TV
  6. Hey Little Girl
  7. Fade To Grey
  8. Such A Shame
  9. Keine Heimat
  10. Here Comes The Rain Again
  11. Forever Young
  12. Feels Like Heaven

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm 

After The Storm 
2010 Napalm
  1. A New Arrival
  2. Call Of Yesteryear
  3. After The Storm
  4. Silvan Spirit
  5. Black Mountain
  6. As The Sun Kissed The Sky
  7. Transilvania
  8. The Flight Of Abbas Ibn Firnas
  9. Goddess Of Fortune and Sorrow
  10. The Otherworld
  11. Eternal Nightside
  • Alexander Krull
  • Yasmin Krull
  • Thorsten Bauer
  • Sander van der Meer
  • Alla Fedynitch
  • Roland Navratil

Reviews:   Metal Storm 

Die Gottlosen Jahre 

2013 Napalm
  1. Pandaemonium
  2. Death by Metal
  3. March of the Undying
  4. Haunted by Demons
  5. Murder Blood Assassination
  6. Necromancy Divine
  7. Satan's Braut
  8. Todesstimmen
  9. Masaya (Boca Del Infierno)
  10. When Empires Fall to Dust
  11. Beyond Perpetual Ice
  12. La Voisine
  • Alexander Krull
  • Thorsten Bauer
  • Sander van der Meer
  • Joris Nijenhuis
2013 BNR Top Ten album

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!