Origin: Norway
Genres: Black Metal
official site


Featuring (at various times) members from bands such as Mayhem, Ulver, Emperor, and Dimmu Borgir, it's no wonder that Arcturus was once tabbed a black metal supergroup, though their recordings suggested they were far more than that. Aspera Hiems Symfonia, their 1996 debut full-length album, is still regarded as a classic symphonic black metal album, but it's the followup, La Masquerade Infernale, a truly unique, progressive, avant-garde art metal affair, that defined what this band was all about. Mixing carnivalesque narration-styled vocals and a host of odd influences, Masquerade set the bar for broadening the boundaries of what used to be a rather limiting genre. Their final two albums (not including the remix album Disguised Masters), combined the experimentalism of Masquerade with a more traditional symphonic black metal base, yet these albums, too, showed that the band was quite willing to take chances. Given that most of the guys had other band commitments, it's not too surprising that eventually it had to come to an end, the members announcing in April 2007 that they had no more time to commit to Arcturus.

Current Members

Simen Hestęs

vocals (Borknagar, ex-Dimmu Borgir, ICS Vortex)

Knut M. Valle


Skoll (Hugh Steven James Mingay)

bass (ex-Ulver, ex-Ved Buens Ende)

Steinar Sverd Johnsen

keyboards (ex-The Kovenant)

Hellhammer (Jan Axel Von Blomberg)

drums (Dimmu Borgir, ex-Jorn, ex-The Kovenant, Mayhem, Mezzerschmitt, ex-Thorns, ex-Troll, Winds)

Former Members/Guests

Garm (Kristoffer Rygg)

vocals (ex-Borknagar, Head Control System, Ulver)

Samoth (Tomas Haugen)

guitars (ex-Burzum, Emperor, ex-Gorgoroth, ex-Satyricon, Scum, The Wretched End, ex-Zyklon, ex-Zyklon-B)

Carl August Tidemann

guitars (Winds)

Tore Moren

guitars (ex-Jorn)

Dag F. Gravem



(EP) Constellation 
  1. Rodt Og Svart
  2. Icebound Streams and Vapours Grey
  3. Naar Kulda Tar (Frostnettens Prolog)
  4. Du Nordavind
  • Garm
  • Samoth
  • Steinar Sverd Johnsen
  • Hellhammer

Aspera Hiems Symfonia 
1996 Misanthropy
  1. To Thou Who Dwellest In The Night
  2. Wintry Gray
  3. Whence & Whither Goest The Wind
  4. Raudt Og Svart
  5. The Bodkin & The Quietus (...To Search The Stars)
  6. Du Nordavind
  7. Fall Of Man
  • Garm
  • Carl August Tidemann
  • Skoll
  • Steinar Sverd Johnsen
  • Hellhammer

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Metal Storm 

La Masquerade Infernale 
1997 Misanthropy
  1. Master Of Disguise
  2. Ad Astra
  3. The Chaos Path
  4. La Masquerade Infernale
  5. Alone
  6. The Throne Of Tragedy
  7. Painting My Horror
  8. Of Nails And Sinners
  • Garm
  • Knut M. Valle
  • Skoll
  • Steinar Sverd Johnsen
  • Hellhammer

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Metal Storm 

Disguised Masters  COMPILATION
1999 Jester
  1. White Tie Black Noise
  2. Deception Genesis
  3. Du Nordavind
  4. Alone
  5. The Throne Of Tragedy
  6. La Masquerade Infernale
  7. Master Of Disguise
  8. Painting My Horror
  9. Ad Astra
  10. Ad Astra

The Sham Mirrors 
2002 Ad Astra
  1. Kinetic
  2. Nightmare Heaven
  3. Ad Absurdum
  4. Collapse Generation
  5. Star-Crossed
  6. Radical Cut
  7. For To End Yet Again
  • Garm
  • Knut M. Valle
  • Dag F. Gravem
  • Steinar Sverd Johnsen
  • Hellhammer
2002 BNR Top Ten album

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm 

Sideshow Symphonies 
2005 Season Of Mist
  1. Hibernation Sickness Complete
  2. Shipwrecked Frontier Pioneer
  3. Demon Painter
  4. Nocturnal Vision Revisited
  5. Evacuation Code Deciphered
  6. Moonshine Delirium
  7. White Noise Monster
  8. Reflections
  9. Hufsa
  • Simen Hestęs
  • Knut M. Valle
  • Tore Moren
  • Skoll
  • Steinar Sverd Johnsen
  • Hellhammer

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Sea Of Tranquility  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm 

Shipwrecked In Oslo 
2006 Season Of Mist

  1. The Arcturian Sign
  2. Crashland
  3. Angst
  4. Warp
  5. Game Over
  6. Demon
  7. Pale
  8. The Journey
  9. Archer
  10. Bane
  • Simen Hestęs
  • Knut M. Valle
  • Skoll
  • Steinar Sverd Johnsen
  • Hellhammer

Reviews:   Brave Words  Angry Metal Guy  Sputnik Music  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!