Origin: Anchorage, AK, USA
Genres: Metalcore
official site MySpace

36 Crazyfists  

Alaska hasn't produced much in the way of metal bands over the years, with perhaps only the 80's band Pandemonium having significant Alaskan heritage. 36 Crazyfists is another such band, the quartet taking their name from a Jackie Chan movie and eventually relocating to Oregon before recording their first album, Bitterness The Star, in 2002, with A Snow Capped Romance released two years later. The band straddles the line between harder nu-metal and the current metalcore rage, with a healthy dose of emo thrown into the mix, and vocals alternating between a melodic side and the usual monotonic hardcore blasts. There's a fair degree of variety in the songs, though overall there isn't a lot here that is brand-new, as this genre has really taken hold in the last few years and there are many bands in this style. A Snow Capped Romance is solid for the genre, and the market for this style is still on the rise, but a tad more originality might be in order for these guys to rise above the competition.

Current Members

Brock Lindow


Steve Holt


Mick Whitney


Kyle Baltus


Former Members/Guests

Thomas Noonan



Bitterness The Star 
2002 Roadrunner
  1. Turns To Ashes
  2. One More Word
  3. An Agreement Called Forever
  4. Eightminutesupsidedown
  5. Slit Wrist Theory
  6. Bury Me Where I Fall
  7. Dislocate
  8. Two Months From A Year
  9. Chalk White
  10. All I Am
  11. Ceramic
  12. Circle Of Drain
  13. Left Hand Charity
  • Brock Lindow
  • Steve Holt
  • Mick Whitney
  • Thomas Noonan

Reviews:   Metal Underground  Metal Observer 

A Snow Capped Romance 
2004 Roadrunner
  1. At The End of August
  2. The Heart and The Shape
  3. Bloodwork
  4. Kenai
  5. Skin and Atmosphere
  6. Song For The Fisherman
  7. With Nothing Underneath
  8. Destroy The Map
  9. Installing The Catheter
  10. Cure Eclipse
  11. Waterhaul
  • Brock Lindow
  • Steve Holt
  • Mick Whitney
  • Thomas Noonan

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

Rest Inside The Flames 
2006 DRT
  1. I'll Go Until My Heart Stops
  2. Felt Through A Phone Line
  3. On Any Given Night
  4. Elysium
  5. Great Descent
  6. Midnight Swim
  7. Aurora
  8. Will Pull This In By Hand
  9. We Cannot Deny
  10. Between The Anchor And The Air
  11. City Ignites
  • Brock Lindow
  • Steve Holt
  • Mick Whitney
  • Thomas Noonan

Reviews:   Blabbermouth 

The Tide And Its Takers 
2008 Ferret
  1. All Night Lights
  2. We Gave It Hell
  3. The Back Harlow Road
  4. Clear The Coast
  5. Waiting On A War
  6. Only A Year Or So...
  7. Absent Are The Saints
  8. Vast And Vague
  9. When Distance Is The Closest Reminder
  10. Northern November
  11. The Tide And Its Takers
  • Brock Lindow
  • Steve Holt
  • Mick Whitney
  • Thomas Noonan

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal 

Underneath A Northern Sky 

Collisions And Castaways 

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!