Origin: Norway
Genres: Black Metal
official site YouTube


Named for the year that a plague hit Norway, 1349 represents one of the rising stars in preserving old-school black metal. The band formed in 1997, with an early lineup featuring guitarist Balfori, who left and is now fronts Lunaris. Eventually they attracted the interest of noted drummer Frost of Satyricon, who eventually signed on as a full-time member. After a debut EP came their first full-length album Liberation, an exhausting, hyperspeed blast of old-school black mayhem (no pun intended), featuring an inhuman drumming performance from Frost and some of the meanest riffs heard in some time. In keeping with old values, the production is very thin, with the drums rather oddly mixed and the guitars sounding heavily distorted and buzzy. These guys aren't reinventing black metal, but they are as good if not better than the bands that obviously influenced them (think bands like Marduk, Darkthrone, or old Mayhem). Liberation is among the finest raw black metal albums to emerge in several years.

Current Members

Ravn (Olav Bergene)


Archaon (Idar Burheim)

guitars (ex-Funeral)

Seidemann (Tor Risdal Stavenes)


Frost (Kjetil Haraldstad)

drums (Gehenna, ex-Gorgoroth, ex-Keep Of Kalessin, Ov Hell, Satyricon, ex-Zyklon-B)

Former Members/Guests

Tjalve (André Kvebek)



(EP) 1349 
2001 Holycaust
  1. End Of All
  2. Antichrist Warzone
  3. Chaos Within
  4. The Usurper (Live)
  • Ravn
  • Archaon
  • Tjalve
  • Seidemann
  • Frost

2003 Candlelight
  1. Manifest
  2. I Breathe Spears
  3. Riders Of The Apocalypse
  4. Death March
  5. Pitch Black
  6. Satanic Propaganda
  7. Legion
  8. Evil Oath
  9. Liberation
  10. Buried By Time And Dust
  • Ravn
  • Archaon
  • Tjalve
  • Seidemann
  • Frost

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Metal Observer 

Beyond The Apocalypse 
2004 Candlelight
  1. Chasing Dragons
  2. Beyond The Apocalypse
  3. Aiwas Aeon
  4. Necronatalenheten
  5. Perished In Pain
  6. Singer Of Strange Songs
  7. Blood Is The Mortar
  8. Internal Winter
  9. The Blade
  • Ravn
  • Archaon
  • Tjalve
  • Seidemann
  • Frost

Reviews:   Metal Observer 

2005 Candlelight
  1. I am Abomination
  2. Nathicana
  3. Sculptor of Flesh
  4. Celestial Deconstruction
  5. To Rottendom
  6. From the Deeps
  7. Slaves to Slaughter
  8. Hellfire
  • Ravn
  • Archaon
  • Tjalve
  • Seidemann
  • Frost

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

Revelations Of The Black Flame 
  1. Invocation
  2. Serpentine Sibilance
  3. Horns
  4. Maggot Fetus...Teeth Like Thorns
  5. Misanthropy
  6. Uncreation
  7. Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun
  8. Solitude
  9. At the Gate...
  • Ravn
  • Archaon
  • Seidemann
  • Frost

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Metal Observer 

2010 Indie
  1. Tunnel of Set - I
  2. Atomic Chapel
  3. Tunnel II
  4. When I Was Flesh
  5. Tunnel III
  6. Psalm
  7. Tunnel IV
  8. Pandemonium War Bells
  9. Tunnel V
  10. The Devil of the Deserts
  11. Tunnel VI
  12. Demonoir
  13. Tunnel VII
  • Ravn
  • Archaon
  • Seidemann
  • Frost

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Metal Observer  Angry Metal Guy 

Helvetia Fire - The Official 1249 Bootleg 
2011 Candlelight

Massive Cauldron Of Chaos 
2014 Indie
  1. Cauldron
  2. Slaves
  3. Exorcism
  4. Postmortem
  5. Mengele's
  6. Golem
  7. Chained
  8. Godslayer
  • Ravn
  • Archaon
  • Seidemann
  • Frost


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!